Rained out…

Around here trying to have a track meet is just like being on Seinfeld trying to buy soup.

Around here trying to have a track meet is just like being on Seinfeld trying to buy soup.

So today’s track meet was rained out. We will try again tomorrow. At first the other schools were not so excited about the change, but when they woke to the rain today, they agreed and some who are going to a meet on Saturday will just have to change their plans a bit. No one likes to run athletes in back to back meets at this time of year if they can help it. Our track is like running on the highway, so that isn’t a real good thing either. The problem is that this is the conference meet, and we are at the very end of the season; so we find a way to run it or throw out the engraved awards. Money down the drain is not what anyone wants to hear, but injured athletes is even less of an attraction.

Water settling on the drive way between the houses.

Water settling on the drive way between the houses.

Wet concrete and soaked outside lights.

Wet concrete and soaked outside lights.

Rain barrel is flowing over.

Rain barrel is flowing over.

For me this lovely grey and gloomy, a little cold and a whole lot wet day, will likely become a cleaning day. Let’s just say that I am not too excited about the plan. I guess cleaning houses today is better than doing it on mother’s day when I have company. What I should be doing now is writing my message for Sunday.

At least I can get the laundry out-of-the-way, rah! rah! So, I took a break and went and striped all the beds and collected the dirty towels. I don’t much like to get mud out of white towels, but that is what happens sometimes. I have one bed left to do up and lots of laundry to work on. Each of the cats tried a little time outside, but have decided the rain is not their idea of fun. It is tick season here already, yuck! I think Paulina is right about wanting a few chickens in the yard to take care of that problem, but James is really against it. I may have to work on that part.

Sophia is having a nap; it is too cold outside.

Sophia is having a nap; it is too cold outside.

I finally moved Roger off that bag. It is Paulina's thermal bag. Such a poser.

I finally moved Roger off that bag. It is Paulina’s thermal bag. Such a poser.

I should have taken a camera along last night. We went to Bismarck to get the “big” items out of Paulina’s dorm room. She moves out this Friday. They have finals next week, but she only has to be on campus for one, so she will go back there on Wednesday to take it then leave. I can’t believe she is already finished with her first year of college. Good grief, I still remember when I moved in to college my first night, and my room-mate left me alone with only one little light while she went out with her boyfriend. I must still be scared. Hope I spelled that correctly, I mean as in torn up, ruined or mentally altered. I don’t mean as in afraid. Ha!!

Hey how is your spring, or fall for that matter, going?????

 

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!