Evening sites/sights

Moon above the clouds

Moon in the trees

This past Sunday was the big Super Moon of 2017. As fate would have it, Paulina and I were driving on Sunday when the moon was rising and to top it off there was such a heavy cloud cover that the only thing we could see of the moon was a dim light through one of the clouds in front of us. Fortunately I had captured the almost Super Moon on Saturday night right after we had supper. I looked out the east kitchen window and there it was peaking over the horizon floating up through a ribbon of clouds. It was very pretty especially through the trees and with the blue background. It helped that it was not totally dark. As my late great-aunt Mandy would say, “It was not quite dark, dark.” So the pictures above and beside and around that have anything to do with a moon are from that night to the east of my house across the dike.

Sunset on the campus of University of Jamestown in ND on Mon., Dec. 4, 2017

On Monday evening, I went up to campus to check out practice with Paulina and her friends. It was wonderful to be greeted by many of the other throwers. Of course I expected a hi from Alex (former LHS athlete) and Katie (Paulina’s roommate) and Becca (has thrown with her for two years) but when the sophomore from Mandan came and gave me a half hug greeting, I was quite touched. I stayed on the bench just watching and eventually talking to Coaches Clark and Lemm for a good part of the practice. I sure enjoyed the time there and had a wonderful visit with both of those coaches. They have really been great role models and good examples of how to be coaches for these young men and women. As we were leaving the Larson Center to go to supper, I took the sunset picture that you see to the right. Hopefully I have been able to cut the license plates off the bottom of the picture. I really wish I had a filter to take out the things I don’t want shared on the blog. Perhaps that will be one of my Christmas wishes, if not to get the filter, than to learn to use what I already have. Ha!! Often with us old foggies that is more of the problem. At any rate, I went along to eat with the throwers and it was great! Later I went to Paulina and Katie’s room where we watched The Voice to hear the performances of the Top 10 hoping to make the Top 8. By the time I returned to Jessica’s place, I was tired enough to go to sleep and rest up for the second day of twins.

Lily in the bouncer

Marshall holding his own spoon.

It is Thursday as I am writing this, and I have only one more night to sleep here and get up to the twin’s  voices of squeals and giggles and grunts. I have sure enjoyed this week and can’t wait to see them at Christmas. I suppose by that time Marshall will have figured out crawling and Lily will be near pulling herself up. For starting out as premature babies, they have advanced leaps and bounds and they won’t be little babies for much longer. Of course there is always that weekend in Bismarck if we can swing things around to get there. We shall see…. Wishing all of you safe travels and happy days of preparation for the upcoming holiday season!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. stitchinggrandma
    Dec 07, 2017 @ 18:13:03

    Photos are great. I started uploading Most of my photos to FLICKR (associated with Yahoo ) 2 years ago when my wordpress.com account got to 89% capacity and I was unwilling to pay for the service. I can use the photo editor on Flickr before I link to my blog, so cropping is not an issue any more.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

