The Need to Care

Please take the time to watch this. The second video lets you know what can be done to help.

Rain, rain go away…

I really hate to tempt the fates by singing the song in the title above, but really we need a break for a day or two. Actually the rain we have had so far today is just right. According to some of the farmers in the area, it would be fine if the cloud moved to the east by about 30 miles. They would be happy to have a shower right about now. One of our board members, Darius, said that he only had a few acres of sunflowers to put in, and the rest is ready for the rain. Maybe with a little nudge things will go that way. So here goes.

Rain, rain go away, come again another day….(adding my own words) we would like you back next week, but let the sunshine work until then. I realize that those words don’t really fit the tune, but that is how it goes.

So today was supposed to be the big parade for the Dairy and Ag Day celebration in Linton. I thought the parade was at 10 a.m. By 9:15, James suggested that we better head to the cement plant where the line up starts. We were also nervous because no one had come to the house to pick up the float we have (had) stored in the garage. We hopped in the van and headed down first street. As I looked across the side streets to Main Street, I noticed there weren’t any barriers up. Wow, I wondered why the committee was so slow this year.

When we got to the cement plant, there was no one there. It was almost 9:30. I grabbed my phone and texted Andrew the board president. He responded with a phone call. The whole day had been cancelled by the committee, and they notified people with a sign on Main Street. Anderw was happy that at least he was headed to his pasture north of town to check his cattle. He started making phone calls to let the others know that there wasn’t a reason to head to town.

I don’t know who was in charge. I do know they were very concerned about having a rain ruin things because they had ordered several of the blow up contraptions that kids go in and jump around. Now at the risk of stepping on toes, I will put this out there. Back up plan. Also when you are dealing with a day that is supposed to be a give back to the farmers and ranchers who for the most part are the basis of the economy of a small town figure out what is in their best interest, not what you or your children enjoy. Again, I do NOT know who was in charge.

Also if there is any question about me spouting off my mouth, go back in time and ask anyone how the Herreid Centennial turned out. Yes, I was the person who pulled that together. I didn’t do it alone, I had great help, but we went for what was in the interest of everyone. We had back up plans. Things came together in a great way. The only thing I would have changed was dropping the pay for the dances. It would all have been free and people would have been encouraged to purchase more souvenirs or donate more with lots of recognition for sponsorship. People love it when they think they are getting a free deal.

So, I need to get off that subject. Everytime I think of it, I am sad that I didn’t pursue my life long ambition of being an event planner. I should be in charge of a large event center and be planning things every week. It is such a high to watch things come together, and of all things the emergency scrambles in the back ground are even much of a rush… Well catch you later. Hope you caught the funny part of the signs that I took pictures of…. I left off the captions on purpose.
IMG_9383
IMG_9384

Mobridge Vacation Rental

Avoid the hotels, stay in a home

ScienceSwitch

Exploring the Depths of Curiosity

Carrie On Happy

The random thoughts and happenings of an eternal optimist...

timogarden

Ecological gardening and food processing in Sweden

Bee Organized with Pamela

To help you organize and contain your clutter. Sharing tips with you.

Alive and Piecing

Navigating Life with a Sheepadoodle & an Obsession for Quilting

Not for sissies

Formerly: Empty Nest, Full Life

Stitching Grandma

Quilting and Sewing projects, paper crafting and travel

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

LILLIAN'S CUPBOARD

An archive of posts by Lillian about cooking, quilting, knitting, and memories of family and the past. Open her cupboard and discover the treasures she stored there.

Wishful Thinking

A fine WordPress.com site

The Pommie Sheila Blog

The musings and escapades of an emigre down under

Ramblin' through Dave's Garden

A Virginia garden through the seasons

DaniellaJoe's Blog

crochet is my favorite fiber art and my goal is to become a real artist...

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

SARAH THE GARDENER

Real Gardening in my Real Garden

Seasweetie's Pages

A Mermaid Mining Words from the Wet Mountains

So It Goes

North Dakota Representative District 12 thoughts and ramblings

Tom Basson

FAITH | FAMILY | FITNESS

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Nature and Wildlife Pics

Photos of Birds, Bugs, and Buds

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

I Love To Go A Gardening

Growing Our Life in Northern Michigan

Simply Grateful Housewife

Finding happiness despite the cobwebs and dirty dishes.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

It's not really about me...

...its about a creative journey of faith

Grassroots & Gardening

A passion for journalism and gardening

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Go Go Little Red

Craftin' each day as if it's the last

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

Lori Kennedy Quilts

From Doodle to Design

Travel. Garden. Eat.

Enjoy the good things in life ~ you can always clean tomorrow!

Lake Superior Spirit

Blogging from the Upper Peninsula North Woods...