Sun going down

“Don’t let the sun go down on me…” as sung by Elton John sort of suits me today. In this one I am not talking about the lyrics of the whole song, but just the sun going down part. Back in the early days when James and I were planning to get married my sisters threw a shower for me. One of the things that they had Alvina, James’ sister, who was the other bride’s maid, do was the games. She came up with a thing where everyone wrote down a piece of advice for the bride. Of course one of the slips of paper said not to go to sleep mad. In other words, don’t let the sun go down on your anger. I am having a bit of a tussle with that one today. And, though this sounds like I am mad at James, it isn’t really that, I am just mad. I am sick of circumstances that are beyond our control, and perhaps some are within our grip, but it sure doesn’t feel like it right now.

I wanted to make some plans with the others who live in this house about how to attack this clutter in the best way possible, but of course as par for the course when I want to sit down and make plans like this, I am met constantly with one distraction after another. I guess tomorrow we get up and everyone goes into their own corner and does whatever the &^%$%* they want.

I also wanted to watch the two episodes of Young and the Restless that were recorded on the new cable that we got on Tuesday, but instead I am sitting in the only room without recording ability watching today’s show on the Soap Network, thank goodness for that channel. I can’t believe that the cats don’t need to be watching something. Speaking of cats, I should probably get the shovel and a hoe and carry the rat head with guts hanging out that is laying on the carpet outside of my bedroom door and dispose of it. I should carry it through the house and … OK I should quit.

The other thing that started me down this pouty fitzy attitude for the day is the streets in this town. The whole west side of town seems to be under construction. Some group is working on the sewer lines and another is trying to fix the roads that are getting messed up in the process. I don’t know why they are doing it exactly the way they are, but that is just how it goes. In the meantime some residents can barely get away from or back to their homes without walking. I am just worried about what it will be like when they start on this end of town. James and I both figure that it will happen just about the time that he has to start teaching summer school.

Well in the meantime I will give you a short report on what was done today. While James and I were in Linton again today, he had a Dr. appointment, and he stopped at the school to drop off his and Kathy’s contracts. While we were gone, Paulina cleaned up one of the basement rooms enough to put the yellow dresser and one of the twin beds there. It did take some of the junk out of the car shed.

The car shed is getting better.

The car shed is getting better.

more plants for sale.

more plants for sale.

plants for sale

plants for sale

My other great accomplishment for the day was to make up a few more plants for selling on Saturday. I also checked through the boxes of plants that were brought back here weeks ago. I had forgotten how many plants that I divided earlier. I will have Christmas cactus, aloe vera, kalanchoes and spider plants for sale, not to mention the iris bulbs. I just hope that they all find homes. I am not interested in keeping any of them. Perhaps I can take the left overs to church on Sunday to give away at coffee hour. Hmm

Well the sun is gone, and it is nearly dark so I will close. Hopefully I will have a better disposition tomorrow. I also hope that I start having a bit more time to read some of the posts of the bloggers I follow. Sorry that I haven’t been liking or commenting on your posts. I should be back soon.

Mobridge Vacation Rental

Avoid the hotels, stay in a home

ScienceSwitch

Exploring the Depths of Curiosity

Carrie On Happy

The random thoughts and happenings of an eternal optimist...

timogarden

Ecological gardening and food processing in Sweden

Bee Organized with Pamela

To help you organize and contain your clutter. Sharing tips with you.

Alive and Piecing

Navigating Life with a Sheepadoodle & an Obsession for Quilting

Not for sissies

Formerly: Empty Nest, Full Life

Stitching Grandma

Quilting and Sewing projects, paper crafting and travel

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

LILLIAN'S CUPBOARD

An archive of posts by Lillian about cooking, quilting, knitting, and memories of family and the past. Open her cupboard and discover the treasures she stored there.

Wishful Thinking

A fine WordPress.com site

The Pommie Sheila Blog

The musings and escapades of an emigre down under

Ramblin' through Dave's Garden

A Virginia garden through the seasons

DaniellaJoe's Blog

crochet is my favorite fiber art and my goal is to become a real artist...

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

SARAH THE GARDENER

Real Gardening in my Real Garden

Seasweetie's Pages

A Mermaid Mining Words from the Wet Mountains

So It Goes

North Dakota Representative District 12 thoughts and ramblings

Tom Basson

FAITH | FAMILY | FITNESS

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Nature and Wildlife Pics

Photos of Birds, Bugs, and Buds

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

I Love To Go A Gardening

Growing Our Life in Northern Michigan

Simply Grateful Housewife

Finding happiness despite the cobwebs and dirty dishes.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

It's not really about me...

...its about a creative journey of faith

Grassroots & Gardening

A passion for journalism and gardening

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Go Go Little Red

Craftin' each day as if it's the last

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

Lori Kennedy Quilts

From Doodle to Design

Travel. Garden. Eat.

Enjoy the good things in life ~ you can always clean tomorrow!

Lake Superior Spirit

Blogging from the Upper Peninsula North Woods...