Good Friday

Today has been an at home day. Paulina came last night in time to go to church with us. My sister Kathy went along too. We were a bit late getting going. Part of it was because I dawdled around and then tried to hurry at the end. When I was in the shower my phone went off on the counter. My hair was rinsed, but I hesitated, then decided to try to answer it. I hurried with a towel around me and sliding on a bathmat sort of towel on the linoleum, and you guessed it there I was looking up. I didn’t fall completely on my back, but my knees hyperextended and my ankle wrenched a bit, and my right elbow caught a bit of a tug as I tried to catch myself. I am fortunate not to have broken my wrist or something. I think that my groin got a bit of a tug and my left knee took the worst of it. I told them in church that I felt like a commercial for “Help I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.”

Truth be told, I have a greater appreciation for the day that my mother fell outside and broke her femur. It was November and freezing cold. She was terrified and never did walk on her own much after that. The worst was How long she was out there. It was awful. The cold probably kept her from losing more blood, but it sure wasn’t a pleasant thing. She went out to let the dog out. She was watching Adam’s dog. I guess you could say if she hadn’t let the dog out, she wouldn’t have fallen off the step. It was super windy and the door caught her and threw her down. On the other hand if it wouldn’t have been for the dog the neighbors wouldn’t have noticed that she was out there. All to save the old pickup from getting hit by a falling tree branch. Makes you understand, we should always stop to think before we do something rash. But who knows, that is why they are called accidents.

Anyway, should have done more to prepare for the children coming home for Easter. Vic and Jaxon and I believe Nate are coming tomorrow some time. Melissa and the kids are planning to come down. Hopefully it won’t be so windy and I can do some laundry and hang it on the line. I was hoping to open the houses tomorrow as long as some of the others are around. We shall see.

Services went fairly well last night. We wrote our last prayers. We read the scripture from the gospels that were about the Last Supper and the night that Jesus was betrayed. I put communion into the script pretty much where it happened. We ended with Jesus telling Peter that he would deny him three times before the rooster crowed. I added a little paragraph about what we knew would happen next, the trial, etc. Then we sang a song, had a benediction and I asked them all to file out past the fire pit outside where we burned up all the prayers that we had written during Lent. It was supposed to be symbolic of sending them heavenward. It was something different. Something that I came up with on my own, and I hope it was ok, haven’t heard any comments one way or another, but that is how it goes for now.

Hoping all of you have a blessed Easter. I will leave you with the words from John in my own words. Jesus told his disciples to love one another as he loved them. Pretty big orders. The big thing is that he leaves that new commandment for us too. It isn’t always an easy thing to do, but it is what he told us to do, so we better get to it. Think of the love an animal has for their master. If we could only copy that sort of love, then maybe we would be close to what is asked of us. Tough orders, but perhaps not too much to do for someone who died for us.

Mobridge Vacation Rental

Avoid the hotels, stay in a home

ScienceSwitch

Exploring the Depths of Curiosity

Carrie On Happy

The random thoughts and happenings of an eternal optimist...

timogarden

Ecological gardening and food processing in Sweden

Bee Organized with Pamela

To help you organize and contain your clutter. Sharing tips with you.

Alive and Piecing

Navigating Life with a Sheepadoodle & an Obsession for Quilting

Not for sissies

Formerly: Empty Nest, Full Life

Stitching Grandma

Quilting and Sewing projects, paper crafting and travel

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

LILLIAN'S CUPBOARD

An archive of posts by Lillian about cooking, quilting, knitting, and memories of family and the past. Open her cupboard and discover the treasures she stored there.

Wishful Thinking

A fine WordPress.com site

The Pommie Sheila Blog

The musings and escapades of an emigre down under

Ramblin' through Dave's Garden

A Virginia garden through the seasons

DaniellaJoe's Blog

crochet is my favorite fiber art and my goal is to become a real artist...

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

SARAH THE GARDENER

Real Gardening in my Real Garden

Seasweetie's Pages

A Mermaid Mining Words from the Wet Mountains

So It Goes

North Dakota Representative District 12 thoughts and ramblings

Tom Basson

FAITH | FAMILY | FITNESS

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Nature and Wildlife Pics

Photos of Birds, Bugs, and Buds

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

I Love To Go A Gardening

Growing Our Life in Northern Michigan

Simply Grateful Housewife

Finding happiness despite the cobwebs and dirty dishes.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

It's not really about me...

...its about a creative journey of faith

Grassroots & Gardening

A passion for journalism and gardening

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

Go Go Little Red

Craftin' each day as if it's the last

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

Lori Kennedy Quilts

From Doodle to Design

Travel. Garden. Eat.

Enjoy the good things in life ~ you can always clean tomorrow!

Lake Superior Spirit

Blogging from the Upper Peninsula North Woods...