Happy Thanksgiving, so excited

English: "The First Thanksgiving at Plymo...

English: “The First Thanksgiving at Plymouth” (1914) By Jennie A. Brownscombe (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I just stopped very briefly to say how excited I am for Thanksgiving. We viewed a video in school about the Pilgrims and the Mayflower and the first Thanksgiving as well as one on Lincoln and the Gettysburg Address. It was all animated and I love both those parts of social studies. I even had enough time to talk to the students about the first amendment’s opening part about freedom of religion and what that means for us. I wish more of us realized what was sacrificed for us to have that freedom and why it is important to leave prayer for the individual, the family and the church. If I want to pray in school I can anytime, but I don’t need to force my prayer on anyone else, and that is what it is all about, Charlie Brown. HA!

Anyway, hope you all have a very Blessed Thanksgiving, and remember the first Thanksgiving was not a single family at home in their house, it was a cultural affair.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Nov 28, 2013 @ 17:04:23

    I agree. I am a bit tired of all the commotion to remove God from everywhere. Recently, schools were ending Halloween parties and dress up for kids, and I suspect Christmas is also on the chopping block everywhere. This country was built on the backs of people with strong religious belief. It seems sad to question all the references from the dollar bill “in God we trust” to the marines asked to drop “so help me God” in their honor code oath.

    Like

    Reply

  2. The Belmont Rooster
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 19:24:22

    Great post! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!