A little garden work on Sunday

Sunday we really had intended to take the day off from the garden. We picked all the tomatoes on Saturday and had a pile of rubbish in the wheelbarrow waiting to be taken away to the compost pile, and so we were just going to chill after we had lunch. Everyone was headed in different directions after church and so we went home to eat and rest. I sent a pint of the applesauce I made on Saturday home with Melissa for Carson. I told her to have him add some sugar because it is a little sour. He was busy working on a paper for school, so hopefully he was able to take a little time and have a treat.

Well, about 3 p.m. the time of rest at our place was over. James decided that we might get a freeze this week, and he wanted to make sure the onions were pulled because they could freeze in the ground as it is going to drop pretty low, or so the prediction seems to be indicating. The carrots and the beets were left in the ground because a good frost only makes them sweeter. I am guessing they come out on Thursday.

Sophia getting ready to be carried to the garden.

Today, we took the wagon, the potato fork and Sophia along with us to the garden. We closed the gate behind us and let Sophia run while we worked. She never is allowed outside unsupervised since she had the hypothyroidism diagnosis. She can’t take the pills and so is on a strict diet, which means she isn’t allow to eat any other cat food or human food or rodents. Of course since the neighbor cats hunt our area and the hawk frequents the back yard, there have not been any rodents. Hurrah!!

Pumpkins!!

So, much to our chagrin about the wagon to carry the plethora of onions we would dig out. There was barely a small basket of them to pick. The cosmos grew up and around them so intensely that most of the onions were smaller than the seed onions we planted to begin with. So much for that idea. We did, later, go back outside and cover the one remaining tomato plant, then we clipped and brought in the pumpkins. It was a good idea and they are quite ready to be picked. Now just to wash them and set them in the house as decoration. I am not putting them outside to freeze. I didn’t plant them and am quite happy to have them as volunteer produce. I don’t know why I would jeopardize keeping them. They are currently in the garage safe and sound under the table holding that vast array of onions (all 24 of them). That number is just a wild guess. We planted 100 each of white, yellow and purple. I guess in the future, I agree to pull the cosmos as if they are weeds when they are growing up between rows of vegetables of any kind. On the other hand, I have been getting a good crop of cosmos seeds. I wonder if those would be sellable???Hmmm. Who knows they might have a copyright on them. Of course, I have been taking my own seeds for so many years, I wonder if that still counts.

Carrie On Happy

The random thoughts and happenings of an eternal optimist...

timogarden

Ecological gardening and food processing in Sweden

Bee Organized with Pamela

To help you organize and contain your clutter. Sharing tips with you.

Alive and Piecing

Navigating Life with 4 Poodles, 2 Teens, & an Obsession for Quilting

Empty Nest, Full Life

Formerly: PostDepartumDepression Thoughts about the "post Mommy" years of life

bunny totem knits

knitting a spiritual, intellectual, emotional life

stitchinggrandma

Quilting and Sewing projects and the occasional craft

Mostly Not New

Exploring alternatives to constantly buying new crap

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Missy's Crafty Mess

knitting, crochet, yarn dyeing, cross stitch, books, cats, and family recipes. My journey through grief and loss...

Lillian's Cupboard

I store all kinds of things about cooking, quilting and some surprises in my cupboard. Check it out.

Wishful Thinking

A fine WordPress.com site

Pommie Sheila

The musings and escapades of an emigre down under

Ramblin' through Dave's Garden

Garden and Pond stuff

DaniellaJoe's Blog

crochet is my favorite fiber art and my goal is to become a real artist...

Garden Walk Garden Talk

The Greater Garden of Nature

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Agrigirl's Blog

Placemaking for Healthier Communities and a Healthier Planet

SARAH THE GARDENER

Real Gardening in my Real Garden

Seasweetie's Pages

One Woman On A Quest for Peace, Joy and the Write Words

So It Goes

North Dakota Representative District 12 thoughts and ramblings

tom.basson

healthy (body+mind+spirit) = healthy soul

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Nature and Wildlife Pics

Photos of Birds, Bugs, and Buds

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

I Love To Go A Gardening

Growing Our Life in Northern Michigan

Simply Grateful Housewife

Finding happiness despite the cobwebs and dirty dishes.

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

It's not really about me...

...its about a creative journey of faith

Grassroots & Gardening

A passion for journalism and gardening

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

go go little red

Craftin' each day as if it's the last!

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

The Inbox Jaunt

From Doodle to Design

Travel. Garden. Eat.

Enjoy the good things in life ~ you can always clean tomorrow!