The getting organized bug

Now that the big sale is over, and we have taken two of the left over boxes out of the house, I have the “bug” to start digging out more and more, but I am not really willing to live in the midst of junk like we had to last week when we were setting up for the sale. I would like to do the rest of the clearing away in a more methodical and organized way. I stopped in at an antique store in Eureka today and mentioned that I have the old wedding dress of a former resident and I would be willing to give it to them if they would take it. The owner said she would take it and check if the museum would like it and if not they would be happy to have it in their store. One more item gone. Now where to start with the rest. I think the first thing I need to do is begin with an itinerary and a list and mostly a deadline. And, I need to just keep picking at it.

Stack of projects in progress

One exciting issue is that James and I have decided to turn the small back bedroom into my sewing/crafting room. We actually discussed taking out the wall between that room and the office, but neither one of us has carried the sledge-hammer up the steps yet. On the other hand, we have agreed that it won’t happen until there is a replacement bedroom in the basement area, so it will probably be about a year before I get that room. My real motivation for switching out that room is so that no one ever has to sleep on those old beds ever again. I found out the hard way this week that they are terrible. They have served their purpose, but really need to go.

Bag of Vic’s material

In the meantime, I will need to do a little better job of organizing the space in my bedroom to house the stuff I have. Actually I am starting to see the best idea would be to get started at completing a few of the projects and moving them on, as in out of the house. The other thing that I need to stop doing is allowing new items in. Since I still have Victoria’s sewing machine, she decided it would be a good idea to bring me her material for me to use in the projects she had planned. Like I need anymore ideas. Perhaps the best place to start would be a totally complete list of everything here. Yikes, that alone could take two months to complete.

Perhaps my plans for tomorrow after laundry, dishes, start the Sunday message and weed in the garden will be an inventory of material and items in progress. Right after that I will map out a plan for world peace because if I can get that list finished, I should be able to accomplish anything.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Missy's Crafty Mess
    Aug 14, 2017 @ 12:58:41

    Those works in progress tend to get the best of crafters. Last year I did a no start December and finished a lot of projects. Some got carried over to the new year and a lot were torn apart to repurpose the yarn.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. stitchinggrandma
    Aug 10, 2017 @ 06:32:41

    When you are tired of hauling boxes away, look into the Give Back Box program, sponsored by folks like Amazon and Zappos.com – you fill one of “their shipping boxes” and print a free shipping label, and off it goes to charity. You can even schedule pick up with the postal service so you don’t have to do any more than set it on the porch. It works! My daughter ordered pillows for the porch chairs and I filled the empty box with old clothes (my former working days clothing) and put the label on it, and off it went. I think you can get a tax deduction receipt from them too. Check it out! http://givebackbox.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

