On the importance of house plants

Such great ideas that I just had to share this on my site. Thanks!!

This Veggie Life

I have a minor obsession with house plants. I’ve got spider plants, rubber plants, ivy trailing everywhere around my home. I frequently run out of pots to put them in and have to buy more pots; this frees up the smaller pots, and I buy more plants.

Vicious cycle.

But I really do think they improve my day, and there’s lots of evidence to suggest that they improve your health as well. I like seeing greenery indoors, I enjoy watching them grow, and the cat likes to chew the leaves.

So what are the benefits?

  1. Purify the air: plants can absorb harmful toxins from the air, break them down, and release the harmless by products.
  2. Remove carbon dioxide: it has been suggested that plants can remove up to 10% of carbon dioxide from the air. (So’s it’s really concerning when trees are cut down when we have a…

View original post 348 more words

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Aug 01, 2017 @ 06:42:05

    Really interesting! Our house is small with a limited number of windows and we have fewer plants than in our larger flat. Maybe I should rethink a bit!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

