Time with Jessica

What a day. I have not really done much in terms of work. I think I slept until nearly 10, but I am not even sure anymore. It seems that I do most of everything after 10 p.m. lately. Wednesday it was quite late when I finally finished packing and settled to sleep. On Thursday, James drove me to Sterling and we met Jessica on the off ramp of the interstate instead of at the truck stop because they were paving the driveway there and James didn’t want to get tar all over the Durango that he bought on Wednesday. This will be his vehicle and we will just have to cut back on a few things here and there in order to make the payments and still do some of the fun stuff and the running that we like to do.

The purpose of meeting Jess was to spend some time at her place with the twins. Thursday they happened to have a Dr. appt. in Bismarck, so Tony was allowed to rest and I went along. Report is that things are going well, they are continuing to grow and develop. The Dr. was explaining to Jess where they are fitting on the growth charts and though they are at the low end for now, the good news is they are improving, and as far as Grandma is concerned that is all that counts.

After the poor things had been poked and prodded and looked over two nurses came in and stabbed them with shots. It was sort of a dirty rotten thing to do to them, and when we got back to Jessica’s house, I was sure to tell each of them how very awful it was that they were not informed that this was coming. Of course Jess was listening and laughing. The fact is she had forgotten they were scheduled for the shots. It was a rather quiet evening. They were exhausted from the day, and after a little feeding and some attention time, they were ready for bed, as I was too.

This morning Jessica got up and fed them and when I finally appeared, she left to pick up Lindsey’s dress for her and head for the wedding venue out of town. This will be the fifth time Jessica has been the maid of honor (well now matron of honor) in a friend’s wedding. Boy, I never had even one friend who wanted me to do that, let alone 5.

Marshal and Lily

Anyway, the fun part is that I was able to spend the morning with the twins all by myself. At first I let them sleep while I ate and worked on the computer, and then I finally realized that I wasn’t going to have many days like this. So, the minute they were making a noise, I took them both out of their rockers and put them on the floor together and we just looked at each other and talked. Mostly I let them lay close to each other and look at each other. Lily was busy on her tummy trying to move, but I had Marshall on his side and he kept reaching out and touching Lily. It was great.

Later after Tony got up, he took the two to his parents and Jess came home and got me and we went to the rehearsal. I will be officiating the wedding tomorrow. Thankfully I have the message for the service finished. It will be quite short, but actually plenty long. It could be warm and windy tomorrow, so short will be good. Paulina and James are coming up in the morning and so hopefully we can print out the message and get my hair into some braids to keep it out of my eyes so I can read tomorrow. Let you know how it all turns out…..

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

