Sick Day, uck!!!

Every year at this time, or near this time, I end up down for the count. Today was the day. It could have been Monday or even Sunday afternoon, but no, it had to be Saturday morning as we were getting ready to head out the door for the State Indoor Class B Track and Field Meet. It technically is not a State meet, but it is open to any Class B teams and hosted by NDSU. We didn’t used to go, but lately James is trying to push some of his athletes a bit harder.

Breakfast for the sickee

At any rate this morning when we were packing up to leave, I just couldn’t do it. My throat felt like someone was pulling a rake up and down it, and my head was about to explode. As I was digging in my track bag from last year, I found an elastic pony tail holder and two of the decongestants that I normally use for these bouts. I downed them with my orange juice and headed to bed as James went over to pick up Kathy and head to the meet. Actually, as you can see from the picture to the side, I took a little breakfast with me to the upstairs area and watched a bit of tv before nodding off. The oranges were those I would have taken to the meet. O, well! Roger was more than happy to curl up beside me and know that she wouldn’t be home alone today.

When I woke at noon, I felt human again, but since the decongestant has worn off, not so much. I took a second dose hoping it will help, but I am a bit afraid of tonight and tomorrow since there is no more in the house, and I don’t really feel like going out to get any more. Well this is all for today. I have been monitoring the track meet and Jaxon’s wrestling from the computer. Looks like the poor little guy should have stayed in bed, too. Victoria called to say he had a positive strep earlier this week. Sounds like she is her mother’s daughter. She went to play basketball in a YMCA tourney the week we finally realized her back and stomach problems were not normal growing issues, but a bit of something called Crone’s Disease. Yikes what we don’t do for sports. Actually as for today, I only stayed home to protect the others from getting sick, and to make sure I could get up tomorrow and get to church. We have had enough Sunday’s off in the past few weeks.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

