Clean out the trunk/clutter issues

The inside look at my trunk

The inside look at my trunk

So, cleaning out the trunk was not really on the radar, or anything that I anticipated doing anytime soon. Short insert here to tell you about this trunk. I bought it for $12. As I reconsider it, I was out of college when I bought it. It was at an auction sale for a grandmother of one of my classmates. The house where she lived is now the house that my youngest sister owns. I bought the material you see because I intended to line the trunk and make it very usable. The material is older than I am married, and it still is not finished. I am beginning to think that I don’t have a clutter problem as much as procrastination issues. If I did half the things I thought of, I wouldn’t have much in terms of clutter. Yikes!

Flower girl dress from the back. If it fits Ana, she can wear it for fun sometime, if not, Vic can just have it.

Flower girl dress from the back. If it fits Ana, she can wear it for fun sometime, if not, Vic can just have it.

So, as you might see, I have moved the trunk to the foot of my bed and mostly it serves to hold the blankets from falling to the floor, or to hold a few extras if I think I might need them. The other day after a long conversation with Victoria, we got to the deal of “whatever happened to the dress I wore as a flower girl?” And it took me a couple of hours, but I finally realized that all the dresses that I value are in that trunk, including my wedding dress, my snow queen dress, a couple of bridesmaid dresses and the dresses I sewed for my girls for the Centennial. I should drag those out and take pictures of them sometime. I bet some of the little girls in the family could wear them about now. Ha, Ha, only for some “old-time” pictures that is for sure.

White rat

White rat

So, the issue here is the clutter clean out. As I was digging into the trunk, the first round of items were all of my stuffed animals. I hope you all know none of those are being donated or getting tossed at this time. I did pull one old white rat out of the mix and saw the ears were bad, and it seemed dirty so I put him in the garbage, but he was rescued later in the night and is now sitting  of the table waiting to be washed and returned to his home in the trunk. I just couldn’t think of him going in a garbage bag out in the cold and being crushed in that big ugly truck then transported to a land fill and dumped there to die. I just could NOT do it. This is why people like me live with clutter. No one taught me that toys are its and not hims or hers. UGGGHHHH. Maybe I am secretly related to Linus from the Peanuts gang or something. I would have sat in the Pumpkin Patch, too.

The stuffed animals and the pom-poms.

The stuffed animals and the pom-poms.

The other angle.

The other angle.

I did, though, toss a set of old paper pom-poms. Hurrah!! They took up way more room then that poor rat, and they were dusty besides. I didn’t even one second consider keeping them for Ana to play cheerleader. She needs to learn how to play ball or wrestle or run or throw shot or something, but not shake pom-poms and dance around. I bet you can’t guess how I responded to the headline that Playboy bunnies are making a comeback. Well go figure with this political dumpster-fire we have going on. Enough said.

On the other hand, I want to give a shout out to my oldest daughter who just recently painted her nursery with her future mother-in-law (Kim). After they were finished, Kim asked about this little cupboard thing that was in the living room. Well it was Jessica’s when she was little. James and I, again at an auction sale, found these two cupboard like cabinets that were handmade and bought them one for each girl, Jess and Vic. Over the years they used them for bookshelves of toy shelves or any number of things. Kim realized that it would be a good match in the nursery and could hold anything from books to diapers to whatever was needed and would save them from having to purchase something. She had the same idea that I often have, which is “Shop at home first.” It was one of the rules that I mentioned back in early January with my frugal ideas post. I love it!!

I can’t wait until I can get to Jamestown and see what they have done with the place. It makes me jealous that we live so far away. If I wouldn’t like our yard so much, I would be tempted to find a house close by and become like the mother in Everybody Loves Raymond. HA!! In the meantime, I should see what I have that might match a froggy themed room. Hmmm, I don’t know if I have ever seen any of those around here. (In case you didn’t catch it–that was a reference to the book about the Wide Mouthed Frog.) I wonder if one of those would be ok to bring to the shower?? Sure hope Jess didn’t have time to read this. Catch you later!!

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

