Mary Tyler Moore, My hero!

Me with Mary's statue

Me with Mary’s statue

One of my early female heroes as I was growing up has passed on. I watched Mary Tyler Moore on both the Dick Van Dyke Show when I was quite small, and the Mary Tyler Moore show when I was probably a tweener and a young teenager. She was pretty and funny and had that independent woman life style in the city. It was such a great role model for those of us who grew up on the edge of title IX and the Women’s liberation movement. I am torn by the women’s march that is currently happening around the country and beyond. I completely agree with the fundamental principles that it is holding up, but like all movements, I am afraid that it will become beyond radical and then I will not be in favor. I will keep watching with optimism and perhaps join later if it doesn’t go over the edge as I fear. On the other hand, perhaps it is time to go back to being the girl who looked up to this icon. At any rate, I wanted to share this picture of me beside the statue of Mary tossing her hat in the air. The statue is in Minneapolis, MN. We were there in Nov. of 2015 for a Garth Brooks concert and walked from our downtown hotel to the Target Center to attend the concert. We walked back home again after the concert and the streets were virtually empty. It was a great feeling to be able to walk there in that huge city and basically be just our group. Reminded me of the night in the park in the middle of Denver when I was in college and there at the Colorado Women’s College for a Spur’s Convention. What a fun time that was too. Well, not much else to say today, just wanted to pay a little tribute to an absolutely wonderful woman, actress and great female role model.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. donna213
    Jan 26, 2017 @ 19:49:55

    Great photo of you with the Mary statue. I always loved her shows. She was a great humanbeing too. Loved her work for animals also.

    Like

    Reply

  2. lucindalines
    Jan 26, 2017 @ 19:35:19

    Opps, I guess we went to that concert in 2014. Wow, time does fly lots faster than we think.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

