Happy Birthday to Jessica!!!

Jessica, hope you enjoyed this day!!

Jessica, hope you enjoyed this day!!

So today is my oldest daughter, Jessica’s birthday. I won’t say her age because that is up to her to share. I just know that when I was the age she is now, I already had two daughters. She of course never wanting to be outdone by anyone has opted for the two for one in her pregnancy and is having twins. The picture to the left was taken by Paulina early last fall. I won’t give any details on it other than to say it was taken on the campus of the University of Jamestown. We will be traveling there with Jessica at the end of February for her wedding. She and Tony have decided to use the chapel on the campus. Interesting that two of my daughters will be married there. It was probably the building I entered the least, yet it was what attracted me to the campus. It is beautiful and cathedral-like inside. I love the sound of the organ blasting out one hymn or another, but I digress and today is about the birthday and not about the campus.

Jessica with Tiger at Grandma Patsy's house.

Jessica with Tiger at Grandma Patsy’s house.

Last year we were present with her for the big birthday. This year it will have to wait until the weekend. James sent her flowers for her birthday, and I have a card and a little something else to cover the event. I used to tell James that it is the mother who should receive gifts on the birthday. I was the one who did all the work after all and for the record, it was all done without any drugs. I have been remembering some of that day as of late. Mainly I came away from it with a different attitude about my mother. I am not saying that it lasted long, and I didn’t feel that way on baby two or three, but in those first hours after Jessica’s birth, I had a bit of a different respect for life and how we get here.

Jessica in our house in Jamestown

Jessica in our house in Jamestown

On the other hand, I am hoping that I will have lots of years to hang around and watch the dynamic duo terrorize their parents. If they are even a blending of their parents, we are in for trouble. I am thinking this grandmother will need to step in with lots of influence. As everyone who knows me will testify, I was always very calm and quiet and studious and do you have your boots on yet? I added a couple of pictures from Jessica’s earlier years to remind her of what she looked like, and that last one is what she acted like when she was young. It wasn’t long after that picture that the cupboards were childproofed. It was a pain, but very necessary. I couldn’t handle that sort of nose or mess, and it got real old washing those dishes over and over.

So, the bottom line is that I hope you had a great day Jessica, and I hope that we will have many, many more together and that the next time you have your sister taking your pictures on a fall day, with your children around you, the result will be quite different. Happy Birthday!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. atkokosplace
    Jan 24, 2017 @ 21:03:53

    Happy birthday to Jessica. Wow and twins! How cool is that?! Congrats to your whole family. Happy new year to you!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

