Dec. 30: Results of the storm and some animals

Sunrise yesterday, Dec. 29th

Sunrise yesterday, Dec. 29th

This morning sunrise happened at 8:21 p.m. The days are starting to get longer, and yesterday the sun was shining with a little heat, which around here is both good and bad. The sun hits the pavement and warms it pretty well, but if the wind pushes the loose snow across the road it begins to stick on and so as the temperatures drop, you have an ice build up. That is where we are now in terms of roads. The plows go out, the sun comes out, trucks and cars drive and seem to wear it all away, but a little breeze in an area with snow filled ditches and start all over again. I didn’t mean to complain about the roads, I was just stating a fact of life in our area. I wanted to catch a picture of the sunrise, but the one I took at 8 a.m. didn’t turn out because for some reason the bright orange never comes through, and later about 8:25 there was a cloud cover and no evidence of any sun in the sky. Oh well….

Sophia mad because she cannot go outside.

Sophia mad because she cannot go outside.

Today will likely be another day of figuring out what to do in an effort to tidy up some of what piled up during that two days of survival mode when the power was off. None of us were in any jeopardy of not existing, it was just annoying that you couldn’t see much because of the lights off or limited and you surely didn’t start any major projects of any kind mostly because of that and the lack of water at one point. Basically any real work was accomplished outside and I was not so much about shoveling or any of that. With the weight of the snow doing any hand shoveling was dangerous and could lead to heart attacks and death, which from what we heard might have been the case for an elderly man in a town close to us.

img_8900What I wanted to show off today was a few of the pictures we have been collecting along the way of our week. Paulina was out with the camera on Wednesday and captured some shots of things including the hawk that keeps returning in search of a bite to eat.

Hawk in the tree

Hawk in the tree

She is always taking close ups of trees and flowers and such. I usually try for the “big” picture so everyone can see the scope of what is happening. I probably get that because I was a lover of landscape painting. I so wish that I could get that drive back. I guess I never did that on my own it was only when I was in a class and forced to work on it for certain periods of time. Maybe that is how I get the “luscht” back.

Trees with shadows falling on the snow

Trees with shadows falling on the snow

I have been taking pictures to look at shadows and colors and have something to use if and when I ever desire to paint again. I don’t know how many times I have bought the supplies, but never do anything with them. One year I gave everything to Victoria thinking she would carry on, but with three children and a daycare, it is not a priority. Good grief if I with a part-time job and plenty of free time don’t pick up a brush, how is she supposed to do it.

Another hat almost finished.

Another hat almost finished.

And besides, I have been concentrating more on needle work type of items. By the way, I can post later on what I was working on yesterday when we headed for Bismarck. Hopefully I can get that finished today. Mostly the power going off prevented me from getting at the sewing stack that is piling up, though I cannot blame it all on that. I have had enough time, just not the ambition. Ha!! Too many computer games to finish off. So, enjoy the rest of the pictures and have a great ending to 2016.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

