Merry, Merry, Merry Christmas from our house to yours!!

Dec. 25, 2016

Dec. 25, 2016

We woke this morning to the sound of winds swirling around the house, but upon a peak outside we saw white skies, white ground, but no snow falling down. The major storm has yet to hit in the terms that have been predicted. It is cold and windy and James, who was out to grab his shovel from blowing away and pull in a few of the decorations that were not faring well in the wind, said that it is nasty to be outside. I am feeling a bit guilty that we rearranged the church service schedule to get ahead of the storm and now there basically is no storm. James also says to be patient, it will hit later. I am not complaining, mind you, but it scares me to have a prediction as big as has been told us for over a week, and then nothing happens. When those occur no one takes the next prediction seriously and that is when people get hurt or killed.

Presents under the tree.

Presents under the tree.

I was up at 7 a.m. to put the turkey into the oven. Interestingly, this was the first turkey ever that I didn’t have to re-clean. It gets so disgusting some years when there are pin feathers all over the wings and tail areas. I literally had to use a pliers one year to pull some of them out. This year try as I might I could not find anything, and it wasn’t that we bought from some expensive company. It actually was on sale and less than I have ever paid for a bird. With only three of us at the table, I suppose we will have plenty of left overs.

Christmas mouse sings "We wish you a Merry Christmas"

Christmas mouse sings “We wish you a Merry Christmas”

Oh my, I hear noises above me. Could it mean that Paulina is waking, hahaha!! James and I have been patiently waiting to open our gifts. I guess without the other girls and the grandchildren it sort of doesn’t feel like an opening presents sort of Christmas morning. On the other hand, it will be ok today to just have a quiet gathering.

Corner of decorations

Corner of decorations

Hopefully tomorrow we will find the time to put a few items back in their place and we can clear out some of the chaos we have setting around at this time. I am leaving you today with a few pictures of the room where we will open our gifts. Hope you all are having a blessed Christmas Day, and Happy Holidays to all of you.

More decorations

Some old and some new…

The ponds

The ponds

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

