Advent: Dec. 18 The coldest Day

Sunrise on Dec. 18, 2016. Temp. -21 with windchill -41F.

Sunrise on Dec. 18, 2016. Temp. -21 with windchill -41F.

This is what the eastern sky looked like as I was getting water in the coffee pot to start breakfast. It was about 8:30 a.m. which was a bit after sunrise according to the weather experts. I grabbed a camera and headed for the east garage door. There is a bit of snow build up against that door, so I just opened it and stayed inside to snap the picture. I had to use the zoom to get above the clothes line, but it seemed to work ok. As you can see from the information under the picture it was a bit cold. I didn’t really notice it until I closed the door and headed into the house then the cold air began creeping up the inside of my jeans and I really felt it. Funny how that works. I seriously do not want to have to venture out of the house today, but it seems we are heading to Linton to the big awards banquet for the fall. If they would have done it the week before Thanksgiving, we wouldn’t be subject to freezing, but so it is. We did not have church today because of the extreme cold and the danger to those venturing out of their homes. I did not work on the message, but will probably post something here later today because the scripture for this last Sunday of Advent should be addressed if not completely in a full blown message with liturgy and songs, it at least deserves a comment, so if you are interested check back later for those thoughts. In the meantime, please stay safe and warm and God’s blessings to you all.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

