Advent: Dec. 17 Cold, cats and iPad games

Roger checking out Gummy Drop

Roger checking out Gummy Drop

I woke this morning about 4 a.m., why I am not sure, maybe because my hand was cold from sticking out of the covers or maybe it was that I needed a bathroom break, not sure. Actually Roger was part of the blame. She was nagging to get into the bathroom and eat. I have to keep her food there so Sophia doesn’t get into it because of her thyroid issues. I finally turned off the television and decided it was a good idea to tuck back into bed, but only after a little time with Gummy Drop on the iPad. Roger usually snuggles in with me and often likes to watch the movement on the iPad while I am playing games or reading news stories. I fell back asleep and finally got up at 7:30 a.m. CST. James was still in bed amazingly. I can’t believe he wasn’t already running around asking what the plans were for the day.

It was pretty cold in the house and obviously much worse outside. I believe it was about -4 degrees F. Now at 1:30 p.m. it is -9 and going down. By evening it will be sub -20 and dropping. The wind chill should not be much of a factor outside of our door at the time because the sun is shinning and it looks like an absolutely beautiful day. James did go downstairs to the furnace to see why it wasn’t kicking in as often as we thought it should. While there he changed the filter just to be sure it was clean. I suspect it is because we have the little village all crowded around the thermostat and so the temperature doesn’t really register as cold on the thermostat as it is in the rest of the house.

Later this morning, I ventured out to the garage to dig in the freezer for some items to cook. Our garage  is actually part of the house since our master bedroom is over the top of it. While out there  I nearly ended up with frost bite on my fingers. Next trip out there this weekend will be with gloves and a coat. I managed to pull a bag of frozen zucchini and some ham into the house. We had ham and cheese sandwiches with some chicken and rice soup from a can.

I browned up a container of stew meat and we will have stew with dumplings for supper. I found a recipe in my Taste of Home cookbook for some baking powder dumplings, and I actually can’t wait to get going on making that when I am finished here. I think I will only put carrots in with the meat and boil the potatoes up for a kettle of mashed to go with the stew. We never have anything fun to eat, so being home all day and not having to prepare a message for tomorrow, I could take some time to do some cooking and baking. I plan to use up the last of the apples that were in the fridge to make some apple dumplings, but I won’t make those with a full apple as it called for in the recipe. I plan to cut them up a bit and make smaller portions.

Aloe Vera that needs the little ones taken out.

Aloe Vera that needs the little ones taken out.

I did get a couple of loads of clothes washed and watered all the indoor plants. I want to take the new shoots off this aloe vera in the very near future because I am planning to use at least one as a gift. I also have a few items to wrap from our trip on Thursday night. This year James and I decided not to try to guess what the other one wanted. We each picked out our own items, things we needed to get anyway like new jeans and a couple of shirts for him and a pair of winter pj’s for me. I also picked up a Christmas CD. We will put them in Christmas bags that we are reusing, then when we open gifts we will have something from each other. HAHA.

Well, I am off, phone just rang, we have a funeral in church on the 23rd. A woman who reached the great age of 102 has passed on to eternal rest. Seems just when I am about to wonder about the reality of it all, I am reminded of what our life is really about. God’s Blessings to all of you and yours, and stay warm!! That is an order.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

