Advent: Dec. 12 Back in school

Snow scene on the desk top computer.

Snow scene on the desk top computer.

Today I was silly enough to leave the house to fill in for another teacher, this time in Linton. The roads were not the greatest again today and I am about to quote my young cousin and say, “I do not love this weather.” Little Cash never says that he dislikes or hates things, but instead always says, “I do not like…” I guess that is a pretty nice way to look at the world. So after we managed to get from point A to point B this morning even driving by the large semi-trailer cattle truck stalled at the side of the road going up hill around a curve, I was considering calling Hazelton and cancelling out of the day I am supposed to sub there tomorrow. I said I was considering it until I got here to Linton and James checked his mail box and there was a check for me from Hazelton for the day that I was stranded there, but there was no school. They felt it was only fair to pay me since I wasn’t able to get home. How nice! They sure didn’t have to, and I even talked to the secretary, and said it was ok if they didn’t and that I understood, but in hind sight they did it and I feel pretty fortunate for that. I am excited to go because it is the first time that I will be in the English room since they hired the new teacher a couple of years ago. I really wanted to apply for that job, but I had already taken the position in Eureka at the church and I didn’t feel that I could/should try to do both, and I didn’t want to leave the church.

Speaking of church, I should dig out the papers that I brought along to work on in my down time. I am in the room of the computer teacher and other than monitoring that the students are at work there is really not much for me to do in terms of teaching. They are all working on study guides for an up coming test. Most schools in our area are getting near the end of their first terms and so I don’t suppose many are starting anything new. At any rate, I am enjoying this day so far. Hopefully the rest of it goes just as well. Looking out the window, I  don’t seem to see any new snow coming down, so that is a good sign.

Taking the time to come to school and substitute could take away from my ability to do any sorting or cleaning of things. I have figured out how to solve that issue by doing some digital cleaning. I have my iPad with me and have been sorting through the many pictures on it. I have down loaded some to the laptop and will be burning them onto a disk when I get home. I will look at what is on the laptop for now and erase those from the iPad. Hopefully it will work a little better in the future. I am also guessing that I might have pushed an up date away and maybe that would help. On the other hand sometimes it is just a matter of turning it off for a change.

I also brought the rest of the track and field papers from last spring to update and finalize the statistics for the team. Next Sunday is the big fall awards banquet. It was rescheduled a few times due to the weather. James had all the awards figured and the plaques ordered, and we even figured out the points so we know who gets certificates for hitting the 100, 200, 300 and so on marks for their career, but I never finished the statistics to put in the book. We use those at the beginning of next season to hand out so the athletes can look at them and set their goals. I love doing statistics and as a coach I totally see their value, though some are afraid that is the only thing athletes work for, on the other hand in a sport like track and field that is really the driver more so than a team sport. I also see the value of stats as a teacher, and though some things are hard to measure, keeping accurate records helps you to evaluate what works and what does not.

Well enough of all my ramblings about nothing in particular today. I will get back to work and catch you tomorrow. In the meantime, stay warm!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rhonda Sittig
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:12:29

    Fun to read your post! We live in So, California and would love to have a little snow, just once! for Christmas! Hope you have the Merriest Christmas ahead. Blessings.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 18:17:43

    I would say Cash has the right attitude. Best to express displeasure that way. Living where you do, cold comes with the territory, as does cattle trucks. Have a joyous holiday season, Lucinda. You church must be lovely at Christmas.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

