Advent: Dec. 10 Work in progress….

Christmas CD

Christmas CD

As it turned out yesterday, I did not join Roger for a cat nap. After I found her on the clean bedding, I got to work folding and putting it away. Next I drug myself and the paperwork that needed finishing (and never did) to the kitchen where it was a little warmer. I put on a Christmas CD and considered baking something to warm up the room, but never did that either.

Pantry is finally clean!

Pantry is finally clean!

Instead I opened the pantry and pulled out some drawers and got to work sorting, cleaning up the shelves and rearranging everything to fit better. It is all neat and tidy, and I threw out a couple of very outdated items. Time to watch more closely the expiration dates of some of the items in the cupboard. What I threw away wasn’t such a major cost at least. One was a small box of unflavored gelatin that I picked up in an auction box and never should have brought into the house. The other was a hand-made soup package that was a gift a few years back. It was filled with lentils and beans and dried peas and never sounded too appetizing. We put that along with some rather old sunflower seeds into an old aluminum pie tin and set it out for the birds. I hope it was all ok for their diet. I did notice one feeding on it a little this morning. For more on the birds see yesterday’s post.

Today I should be getting the message ready for church tomorrow, but have not gotten up the “Loosht” yet.  That word is from our German-Russian dialect and means, desire. I hate it when I get into one of those procrastination modes because I always pay for it afterwards. It is snowing and I have been half hoping it gets bad enough to call off church, now how terrible is that? I guess it would be best if I just got to work and put together the ideas that I have in my notes. The big issue for me today is that we have the big community musicale tomorrow, and I am supposed to be doing two readings. I have one ready, but have not even picked out the second one. I said that I could do two, but had not turned in a title, so really don’t know if I am on the program once or twice. Interesting that no one could bother to send out an email of the bulletin, anyway, I will be ready with both and if I only need to do one, so be it. The sad thing is our church is the only one that doesn’t have a musical number to contribute. This happened one other time and I did a dramatic reading then too. I love doing those, but somehow this community basis everything on music. Ironically at one time our church was the music in our area. I guess that is how things evolve sometimes.

Advent tree and train sets, rearranged.

Advent tree and train sets, rearranged.

Ok, so I would like to report on a few other items that I worked on today in terms of cleaning and de-cluttering and organizing things around here. I ended by cleaning off the HD card of the camera. I noticed that I only had room for about 4 more pictures, so it was time to download and burn them to a CD which is what I have been doing to save the price of a new HD card.

Sophia by the tree.

Sophia by the tree.

The big thing is that I redid the decorations on the table. Sophia was having a fit that she couldn’t look out the window, so I moved the tree to give her an area behind it. Now she wants nothing to do with looking out the window and was even gone for most of the afternoon. I suspect she was annoyed about the fuss and disappeared to the basement to sleep on the spare bed there. It was actually a good idea and I even rearranged all the little “Advent” ornaments that I have been putting on the fiber optic tree which my mother gave me. I figured out that if I used both the bulb ornaments and the little wooden and ceramic ornaments then I would have more than needed. I ended up putting all of the bulb type on the tree and using the others for the one per day, “Advent” ornaments. I added to that and put on a couple of larger glass ones that we don’t put on the larger tree in case the cats decide to get silly. Anyway, with the train sets and a few fake gifts beside the Advent tree, I sort of like the new arrangement. Good thing we don’t need the table for a family style Christmas dinner anytime. GRRRR!!! I have a few more pictures, but will save them for another day. Now that the NDSU Bison beat the SDSU Jackrabbits and are moving on to the final four in their division of football, James is off the couch and looking for a task. I think I hear that he is in the extra bathroom cleaning up the tub under all the plants I have wintering in there. Hopefully they all survive. Here is hoping you all stay dry and warm and enjoy the rest of the Advent season.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

