Advent: Dec. 8 More of the displays

Orange-ish Christmas cactus in full bloom.

Orange-ish Christmas cactus in full bloom.

Today I have agreed to go to Bismarck with my aunt. She has a dentist appointment there and hopefully we will get up and back all in one piece. The interstate was closed at different times this week, so hopefully it is all cleaned and open and ready for business. (I had to put the plant into the post to give it some life.) I am excited to go because I have a few things that I wish to return that I purchased on a bit of a whim the last time we were through there. Actually it wasn’t so much a whim, but I purchased a set of knitting looms, and when I went to use them, I realized they were not what I was hoping for. My mother had a handmade one when I was in high school, and I would really like one like that. My sister, Melissa has it, and I am thinking that I should get the dimensions and wood style and figure out how to duplicate it. The items we made from that were much better than what I could manage with the plastic one that I bought. I think the issue was that the pegs on the purchased one were so far apart that the article was such a loose weave compared to what I had grown up with. I did purchase a smaller tighter set wooden knitting loom last summer, and maybe it would be a good idea to get to know that one first.

Christmas angel display

Christmas angel display

So, the post for today was not supposed to go in this knitting loom tangent. I wanted to show you a bit more of the decorations we have set around the house. I put up the angels in my bedroom near the television and the Santas and Father Christmas display in the upstairs hallway outside of my little office/computer work room. I added an angel this year (the short tan colored “strawish” one in the middle back) and put those white reindeer into that display, but I really do not have any more room in any of the boxes for more items.

Ceramic and stuffed Santa set.

Ceramic and stuffed Santa set.

Father Christmas group

Father Christmas group

The Santa collection fits very nicely into an old television box and that is all for that group. Last year or the year before I received a new one, and it took quite a bit for my puzzle loving brain to get them all in. I sure don’t need to add to that issue, though it is always a hoot trying to get everything to fit each year. My poor daughters will someday have to divide my Christmas conglomeration either by whole sets or each getting a little of all of them. They will have enough to choose from, oh well I suppose if you start looking down to the grandchildren, there might be one for each. Ha ha!! What do your collections look like? Sure would love to hear about them!!

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

