Advent: Dec. 2 Friday Open Houses–Yipee!!

New Nativity set

New Nativity set

Today was the Holiday Open House Friday in our little town. In years past I years past, I organized a craft and vendor show on that day. Later it was moved to the Saturday after Thanksgiving, but it didn’t work out too well on that day. No one really made any money. I think the biggest thing was that I didn’t really have an advertising budget and so the whole thing did not get the publicity that it needed to be successful.

Prize from the phone/cable company

Prize from the phone/cable company

At any rate, I commented about all the drawings and the Bingo that were scheduled for today in yesterday’s post. As I did, I lamented how I never ever win anything. Well, lo and behold, I won Bingo two times, in a row no less. I would not have thought to ask, but one lady did ask if we could win more than one time, and the answer was that there were no rules against it, but if you would like to pass your winning to someone else that would be fine. So, on the second one I won, I promptly gave it to my aunt. Well, wouldn’t you know as we were playing the next game and she was getting close to a win, I joked that if she won on her own, she had to give back the win I shared. What a rotten person I am! Well she won that round, and did give it back. We walked out of there with 3 $10 gift coupons between the two of us. I felt so lucky I almost bought a lottery ticket. We also received prizes for bringing in non-perishable food items for the local food pantry, and there were goodies and hot drinks. I had hot cider, which was perfect on this cold day.

New picture frame

New picture frame

We spent the rest of the morning going down Main Street hitting all of the shops and the bank and the mail. We picked up popcorn and candy and treats and signed up for door prizes. I even got a calendar at the bank. We also went to the Kountry Klassics which is going out of business and picked up a few items. The store is now down to 70% off everything. I found two boxes of Christmas cards, a picture frame with a pen/pencil holder for my desk and another Nativity set (like I really need another one of those). When I got the bill my total was less than $8.00, so I really couldn’t pass it up.

James’ family has their Christmas get together tomorrow. I figure he and I will be putting gifts together, and dealing with cards tonight after we get home from Elisabeth’s basketball game in Ashley. Paulina is frantically finishing off the last pages of her big paper for her Senior Seminar in History. I am expecting to see that on the email later tonight so that I can run through it in a proof read. I really should  venture into that as a little side business. I wouldn’t need much to do it, and I believe that I have some talent to help students. I really get tired of reading things on websites that look like no one bothered to give a proof read to their work. I get even more frustrated when I read through old posts of my own and see silly errors. If we could all just slow down a bit.

Victoria called today asking if I would like to join her at a craft fair on Saturday. Boy that sounds tempting. I think if I had known about it a few weeks prior, I might have considered it because I would have built up some inventory. We really need to get into that sort of thing. My mother always made fun of people who did that, but I don’t think she really equated the work that goes into crafting. She was a teacher, an accountant, a construction projects manager, and finally a restaurant owner who also catered. She understood really hard labor in those last two jobs, and could never understand that anyone could earn an income from doing craft work, though she did love to loom knit and to embroider later in life. Oh well, almost time to head out of the house, so this is it for now. Catch you tomorrow with a report on how the gift packing went…. What did you do today????

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

