Advent: Dec. 1: Working at home

Drifts on the lower roof of the upper deck. (oxymoron?)

Drifts on the lower roof of the upper deck. (oxymoron?)

As you can see from the picture to the left, the snow is not melting any too fast. I was surprised by this drift when I finally opened the door last night. As much as Roger wanted to go outside, she could not have gotten down her normal path anyway. I took this picture below this afternoon and though there is some melting, it was not in this area.

This angle shows the icicles forming on the south window of my bedroom. I guess I know where it is melting.

This angle shows the icicles forming on the south window of my bedroom. I guess I know where it is melting.

I didn’t venture out of the house today as I thought I might when I wrote yesterday. I spent the morning in front of the computer organizing a bulletin for church this Sunday. I didn’t get real far yesterday because I was on the phone quite a long time doing a sort of interview with another clergy person. It was an interesting conversation and I believe helpful for both of us. I am going to need to spend some time on the phone or in person with my mentor next week.

Sophia

Sophia

Perhaps I will do it Monday if I can do the in person thing. I need to go to Mobridge and close a bank account there, so that might be a good double dip of my time. I also need to swing up to the vet and pick up another case of the cat food for Sophia. She is eating it to a degree. Mostly, she looks much better than last summer, so I have hope that she is going to survive at least for a few more years. The pills were not really good for her and she either spit them out or didn’t always get them as she needed, so this food thing is really better.

This Nativity snow globe plays "Away in a Manger" and is at the far left of my Nativity set up.

This Nativity snow globe plays “Away in a Manger” and is at the far left of my Nativity set up.

Middle of the nativity set up.

Middle of the nativity set up.

Well not much else to report. I have a couple of sewing projects that I should get back to. For obvious reasons I cannot disclose pictures of the works in progress at this time. I am not giving anything sewed this year unless it was requested or I have a real need to do it. I am getting to the point of only doing what I want, or what someone else thinks is worth the effort.

Far right of the Nativity set up.

Far right of the Nativity set up.

I did finish up a couple of the decorating projects around the house yesterday and so I will share them here. It has been fun to decorate, but it has been a challenge to figure out where to put it all, and with all the great gatherings planned (sarcasm) I often wonder if it is worth digging it out. Oh well, at least James and I can enjoy it. I am not sure that anyone else appreciates it anyway. The only feed back I ever get about my Christmas decorations is who got the ornament that I was always going to throw away because I thought it was an eye sore on the tree.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

