Advent: Nov. 29: Snow Day

Garden today, the sunflowers are still standing even with the snow and the wind.

Garden today, the sunflowers are still standing even with the snow and the wind.

There was no school today in the town where we live or the town where James teaches. In fact a good portion of North Dakota was either late to school or called off. When the big cities like Bismarck and Mandan and Dickinson are off, you know the weather is bad. Often the smaller schools are off, but like when I taught in Montpelier, some of those smaller schools have a very high percentage of rural students. If things get really bad those students have to be housed in town with someone willing and approved to take them. The issue in Montpelier was that there were really not enough people to house the students and some would have to be left in the school building with teachers supervising through the night. Not it!!!

The shop last night. I was trying to get a picture of the squirrel hanging on the pole, but he left as I was getting the camera.

The shop last night. I was trying to get a picture of the squirrel hanging on the pole, but he left as I was getting the camera.

Anyway, everyone was able to stay home and be safe from bad road conditions and any of that. An issue in the Linton School is they had scheduled the fall athletic banquet and awards night for tonight, so that will have to be rescheduled. Good luck now finding a night that has no winter sporting event happening. James and I took the time last night to finalize the points of last year’s track team. This is the first time ever that we have waited until the last minute to do that. I don’t even know where the final sheets are of the splits and distances for the regional track meet. I guess, I just figured it was all on the results sheet, but not true for the splits. I think that I was so into the issue of the all-school reunion that finishing up my stat duties sort of took a back seat. Yikes!!

Paulina called from Jamestown to ask how the snow is going here. She and Jess were sitting in the house looking at brown grass outside of the window. Good grief. They wouldn’t believe me when I said they will be hit tonight. We shall see who wins that belief war.

I have a few more things on my “to do” list today. I am working on getting rid of junk before Christmas, and until spring, actually until it is down to the “we only need this much” list around here. I did 3 cupboards yesterday, rearranging a little, cleaning as I went and ditching the old food processor and a few plastic containers on the top of the cupboard area. I will clean that out before this is over. What I should do is put the round Christmas tins back up for decoration. I liked it what those were up there.

The yard on Saturday after James and Paulina put up the holiday decorations.

The yard on Saturday after James and Paulina put up the holiday decorations.

Today we ditched a few things to their original homes. I want to clear out something else (not real sure what yet), but if I don’t get to it, I can at least say that much if out of here. I also need to get to a bit more of finishing some of my works in progress. I have two stocking caps with ear flaps that need the strings put on them. I think that will be a big deal to do today. I have a few things to sew too. Come to think of it, I wonder what I did with that one project I was hoping to get to???? I also have one more skirt to get done for myself. This time I better check the length better. I took the pattern off a store bought skirt and when I was finished, I saw the uneven hem. When I went back to look at what happened, sure enough that is the way the other skirt is…. Good grief…

So, what are you doing to get into the Christmas spirit????? Go ahead and leave a note, we would all love to hear about it.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

