Fall Garden view

Blue Jay on a sunflower

Blue Jay on a sunflower

Our garden is nearly empty, and for some reason I have not been able to find the time or energy to come here and post anything. This is not to say that I haven’t had anything to say, I just wasn’t able to share or feel the need to have any part of social media for a time.

Squirrel looking for food.

Squirrel looking for food.

Today I am sharing the article that I submitted to the local paper for the clergy column. I didn’t send them any of the pictures, but I will share them with you. Hope you enjoy.

 

 

God’s Garden

Last spring as our garden was emerging; we found lots of volunteer flower plants. Because we had decided to cut back on our vegetable planting, we let them grow. Of course we should have known the plants were from seeds planted in the past and could not be something new and exotic, but we left them anyway. I just couldn’t be so cruel and pluck out any non-weed that was taking the time to grow in my garden. As it turned out, those volunteer plants were a wonderful growth of sunflowers and some cosmos interspersed in a crop of dill that was like no other. The sunflowers ended up shading my tomatoes from the extreme heat of August and in September as they opened into full bloom; I spent many days using them for subjects while honing my photography skills.

Now that everything else has been harvested, we have been enjoying a season of bird watching since those sunflowers are now feeding three blue jays that swoop into the garden every chance they get. I have also caught a squirrel or two trying to grab a snack, but there is really plenty for all. I even picked some of the heads and am holding them to pass out later when these are gone. As I watch that ecosystem from my kitchen window I am reminded that the entire earth is God’s garden, and we are here as mere care takers. In all that we do to maintain a home, to earn a living, to improve our surroundings, we need to remember that everything we have, all that we “own” is just a trust from God.

The gardens of our mortal existence fade to nothing in the realm that belongs to our Creator. Jesus reminds us of this fact when he points to the lilies of the field and says, “Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they neither toil no spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not clothed like one of these.” Matthew 6:28-29 NRSV. God loves each of us and wants to see us growing and thriving just as those volunteer plants in my garden which have created an entity of unexpected beauty. A good way to find out more about the love God has for us is to join with a fellowship of believers. We have a great selection of worship places in Eureka, find one that fits for you and join in the ecosystem there. God knows you already and is waiting to clothe you like the lilies. Isaiah 43:1b “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine.”

 

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

