Apple time

Applesauce bubbling on the stove.

Applesauce bubbling on the stove.

Paulina is home for the weekend and I really need to get her to help me with some of the apples. I have been trying diligently to finish my Sunday morning message early enough to have all of Saturday free to work on baking and canning. We have a wedding to attend in the evening so there won’t be a full day of kitchen work, but there will be enough. I was hoping to have the laundry finished today (Friday) but it rained, well not really rain, it poured, so that was out. I always wait with the laundry until I can hang it out. Perhaps the best thing tonight would be to check what we will wear to the wedding and make sure that is in order.

In the jars. These were not filled properly, thus they must remain in the fridge even though they are sealed.

In the jars. These were not filled properly, thus they must remain in the fridge even though they are sealed.

Anyway, the reason for the post is that last week, James and I took in a few apples to save them from being eaten by the squirrels and birds or knocked to the ground by the wind. James sorted one of the 2 pails we picked and pulled out all of the damaged apples. I peeled them and we cooked them down into a very thick apple sauce. I didn’t have any juice which I normally add to give it a little kick of flavor, but it seemed good. We have it in the fridge waiting to head for Dickinson and award to an outstanding little cross country runner that we know pretty well.

I also took a few of the nicer looking apples to my sister Adie because she likes the tartness of these apples for eating. They are pretty good, and so crisp. I think that bite is what I like best about apples. Now that Paulina is home, I am thinking that a batch of apple pie filling would be a good way to spend tomorrow morning. I looked at the recipe and for that we will need to round up a box of corn starch. Oh well, maybe just a little more apple sauce from the damaged ones for tonight. In the meantime, the pictures are from what we put together last week. Happy fall canning to all of you!!!

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

