First Day of Fall, produce

Basket of apples

Basket of apples

The produce from the garden is beginning to get quite sparse, but the apples are more than plentiful. I took my favorite basket out and picked about 1/3 of the apples on the tree that the minister who was living in the parsonage next door when we moved here planted on the wrong side of the boundary line. Say that all in one breath. Some of them are really big, as in the size of what you might buy at a grocery store. They are a bit tart, but nice and crunchy so actually pretty good eating apples for this area. Now I wish we had been smart enough to plant a few more apple trees instead of putting in the willow tree and the Russian olives, yet I really enjoy both of those species.

Plums

Plums

The plums this year showed promise that the future means larger plums rather than the little tiny things you normally get with the wild plum trees, but sadly the wind knocked off all but a handful of the fruit when they were ripe. The initial crop was spoiled by a bug that hits when there is an abundance of spring fog. I had no idea that there could be a second blooming and more fruit set after that bug infestation, but it happened. In the future I will know to keep a better watch on those trees. They are in the front yard and often ignored by me after the backyard garden gets going. Not again!

Garden produce first day of fall

Garden produce first day of fall

As for the rest of today, it is cool, actually fairly cold, cloudy to the point of gloomy and the air feels wet. Maybe it should just rain and get it over with. Boy that sounds like some good grammar. I did spend a little time checking on what is still left in the garden, not much. We pulled, well James pulled out all of the cherry and roma tomato plants. I had started pulling the beans, but gave up. The zinnias are drying up and the beets need picking, but with all of the zucchini on the counter and the apples in the pails, I just can’t seem to get to doing much of anything. I am trying to figure out what is causing this –mood.

Sophia

Sophia

I hate the word mood and really I can describe how I am feeling only as out of sorts. I have been knitting alternately on a cap with ear flaps and dish cloths, but not really getting anything finished. I tried to sew the skirts from the material that I purchased earlier this summer, but my machine will not stitch that stretchy stuff. Grrrr! I am worried about Sophia and her hyper-thyroidism, but am not sure if I want to take her back to the vet because it is one bit of bad news after another, and I refuse to take the “put her down” option at this time.

And when I take to thinking of something worth doing, my mind keeps taking me back to that weekend in November two years ago when we took that trip to Minneapolis to see the Garth Brooks concert. It wasn’t even the concert that I keep remembering, it was the trip and the supper in that little restaurant on the way to the Target Center, and walking home after in the dark in the middle of that city, just our group, and it was great. With all the rotten stories on the news as of late, both right across the river from us and throughout this country, I guess I keep longing for happier times. Well enough of my gloom today, hope your day is better, and maybe I will get to work on something the question is will it be the message for Sunday or the apples or zucchini on the table.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

