My new friend

Broad tailed hawk???

Broad tailed hawk???

Technically the title should say, My new bird friend, but that doesn’t sound as appealing to me. So here is the thing. We have been seeing these huge shadows on the grass and when we look up there is a giant bird in the air. Well, I am not sure if this is the same one that was around earlier this spring because at that time there were two and now there is only one. I finally had the chance to meet up with this one with a camera. I have not caught it with the zoom lens while in flight, but I have been amazed at how it sits and listens as I talk to it, hence the term friend.

img_8624I put my pictures on the computer and enlarged them, then pulled up pictures of birds of prey until I came upon what appears to me to be a match. My next step was to search for the sounds made by the match and sure sounds like what we have been hearing in the neighborhood for the past few days, weeks actually. I did suggest to Mr. Spots as I have named him that he is welcome to all the mice in the area. In fact I even suggested that he disposed of a few of the squirrels as well.

Bird on the peak

Bird on the peak

I especially encouraged it when he was sitting on the peak of my mother’s house as you see in the picture to the right. It is not a very good photo since it was taken with my phone on zoom and I tend to shake when snapping those, but it is the best I have for now. I plan to continue hunting Mr. Spots with the CAMERA. I want some shots from the back so that I can verify his species more accurately. For now I believe he is a young broad tailed hawk, but I could be wrong, I am open to anyone giving me a better answer. So much for now, have a great day!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kat at travelgardeneat
    Nov 19, 2016 @ 23:25:51

    What a handsome fellow! Have not had a chance to keep up with blogging and blog-reading lately, so thought I’d check in!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. christinelaennec
    Sep 19, 2016 @ 14:45:12

    Amazing! I can’t help you identify the type of bird your new friend is, but he is very handsome.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

