A day at Story Book Land

Grandma and Ana with Glinda the good witch from The Wizard of Oz

Grandma and Ana with Glinda the good witch from The Wizard of Oz

The day after Ana’s birthday, we headed to Aberdeen to give the grandchildren a look at Story Book Land. This place has been around since James and I were first married and is a wonderful place for families and anyone who is a child at heart. I remember going to Story Book Island in Rapid City, South Dakota when I was a youngsters. For those who are not from this area, both places are theme parks (without major rides) in a sense based on children’s stories.

Ana with a Munchkin

Ana with a Munchkin

The park in Aberdeen did not start out to be centered around The Wizard of Oz, but it was eventually added and is a big part of the park. This story by Frank Baum, who once lived in the city of Aberdeen is set in Kansas, though according to many is really about the area of South Dakota where he grew up. Another interesting picture of Ana is of her coming out of a Munchkin house. She thought those were just the best even though she bumped her head a few times coming out of this particular house. I think this is one of the newer pieces. I don’t have a picture of it, but she went through the tornado house with me and wasn’t even scared.

Ana with Papa on the merry-go-round.

Ana with Papa on the merry-go-round.

I guess as long as I am on a role, I will continue with another picture of Ana. I have some pictures of David and Jaxon, but I will save them for tomorrow and their own post. This particular picture is of Ana and Nate as he stands with her on the Merry-go-round. Jaxon rode one of the horses, but she refused to get on one of them and instead opted to ride the lion that doesn’t move other than to go around and around. She was so busy waving to us each time that she went around, I am not so sure she saw much else on the trip. It was pretty hot that day, and by the time we hit the aquatic center, we were ready to get into the water.  I have no pictures from that stop, but I don’t think that is really a bad thing. Ha! I sure would not have wanted myself in any of those shots. Well, not much else to add to this post. It was a fun trip and something a bit different. Perhaps next year we can venture a bit farther away, but really as long as the children are this size something of this nature is just about right. For a look at the garden and some of our time outside together check out the posts on my other site, lucindagardens.

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Aug 14, 2016 @ 12:13:16

    This post startled me – for a moment I thought you’d come to Scotland on holiday! There is a very similar place, “Story Book Glen” outside of Aberdeen, Scotland.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

