New garden toy

IMG_8138Yesterday we took a day away from the area and did a bit of shopping. I needed a cleaner from the Dollar Store and while we were there we noticed some garden toys on special. We actually had the idea of looking for them since we noticed some advertised in a flyer. Our garden toys are getting older and apparently are not made anymore. We have been trying to add to the group or at least replace some that were broken earlier this year, but no such luck. What we have seen recently is either clear glass or really cheap looking. I may need to start looking online to replace what we have. At any rate when Paulina saw the Flamingo’s she immediately thought of my aunt Glenda, so we grabbed one for her and because of the half price sale and because we wanted something new anyway, we got one for ourselves. I only wish I had bought one for everyone in the family, but I don’t think there were enough. So last night after dark, James and Paulina snuck over to Glenda’s house to put hers in the planter and surprise her in the morning. Joke was on them, though. She was not at home and found it when she came home and went into the house. I wonder who she guessed brought it over? She should know by now that all flamingos are Paulina generated. It actually came about because my grandma used to have two plastic flamingos in her yard many years ago. I wonder what ever became of them?? Oh well, what do you remember from your grandma’s yard??? I would love to hear about it.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    Jul 06, 2016 @ 12:39:07

    I LOVE my flamingo! Thank-you from the bottom of my bird-loving heart! It lights up so bright at night. Your grandma would have just loved it, too. Her flamingos bit the dust a long time ago, but I do have two plastic ones in the garage that I never put out! Guess I don’t want them to get broken. Oh such wonderful memories of the past. Paulina and Freda would have gotten along so well.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. christinelaennec
    Jul 04, 2016 @ 11:38:12

    Excellent topic for reminiscing! My granny didn’t have any ornaments that I know of, but she loved Shasta daisies and I grow a shorter version of them in her honour. There was also a plant along the front – Rose of Sharon? St. John’s Wort? – that I remember vividly. I think it was because I was often waiting for other people to be ready to go, out in front!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Tilly Frueh
    Jul 03, 2016 @ 20:14:06

    My grandmother always had a bunch of things scattered in her flower beds which were all covered in rocks. She had mushrooms, squirrels, elephants, fountains, a Buddha (never understood this as she was Presbyterian), a pagoda, bunnies, a fox and bunch of little gnomes. She even had squirrels and butterflies that attached to the brick on the side of her house above all the flower beds. WOW, I hadn’t thought about that in years. We lost my grandmother in 1999 and my grandfather just over a year ago. I miss them both, but the memories I have of them, their homes, and all the times we spent together really bring a smile to my face. Thank you for reminding me of this.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

