Thirsty Squirrel

Mr. Squirrel seems to be asking, "May I have a drink please?"

Mr. Squirrel seems to be asking, “May I have a drink please?”

This afternoon as I was sitting on the porch working on an update of the vegetable garden post for my lucindagardens site, I noticed something watching me from the yard. I soon realized it was a squirrel and so very carefully picked up the camera and took a few shots at it before he decided to move on. (And I don’t particularly like squirrels.) I didn’t have the big camera with the zoom, but did the best I could with the little Canon. When I finally was able to pull the pictures up on the computer and do a close up, I was amazed at how his eyes were watching me.

"Oh what wonderfully cool and clean water!"

“Oh what wonderfully cool and clean water!”

He did eventually get a few drinks out of the pond and after the sound of firecrackers filtered through the alley he was off, but not before bushing up his tale and checking where the danger was.

"Now who made that gun shot sound? I hope it is not !"

“Now who made that gun shot sound? I hope it is not aimed at me!”

The whole time I was standing as still as I could on the porch so not to spook him away. I guess that will have to be my secret to seeing more of the wildlife in our backyard and front yard for that matter. I often wonder if we have any idea how fortunate we are to live in such a small town, and especially here on the edge. There is an entire ecosystem in this area, and we so much take it for granted. Well, enough for now, enjoy!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Jul 04, 2016 @ 11:34:14

    Beautiful pond, and sweet squirrel! One of our pet rats is very fond of making eye-contact. There is such a delicateness about them.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. annasgardening
    Jun 30, 2016 @ 18:03:59

    Oh my, he is so cute. I love your pond!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

