Strawberry moon

Strawberry moon June 20, 2016

Strawberry moon June 20, 2016

So, I know there will be zillions of blog posts about this year’s version of the strawberry moon. I will not try to explain it or get on the 1967 or 1948 bandwagon because I frankly don’t know. I just know that the moon was beautiful outside of our house last night. We celebrated the strawberry moon with rhubarb cake after coming home from a late session of water aerobics.

A shot by Paulina

A shot by Paulina

I probably could have made strawberry-rhubarb cake, but the neighborhood squirrels decided the strawberries looked so good they should eat them. I am not happy with them, and I am beginning to see more and more reasons why I should find a cat or dog who would clear them out of the yard. My mother used to have such a cat, but by the time she moved in with us, she was too tired and crippled to do any cat chasing, and now rests beside the pool beneath the willow tree.

The view from our east door.

The view from our east door.

I didn’t mean to make this a sad post, I just wanted to share about the moon and how we sat outside on the concrete eating cake and drinking coffee and enjoying the cool of the evening. It ended up being cool enough that we grabbed blankets to wrap up in. It reminded me of the camping trip James and I took with the Montpelier seniors in 1992. Boy it has been a while since I thought of that. It was my first experience in a canoe and in a tent without running water and all of that Yucko!!

I love how this version makes it look like the moon is resting on the clouds.

I love how this version makes it look like the moon is resting on the clouds.

Well hope you enjoyed the shots of the moon. Were you able to spend any time outside looking at it last night????

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

