Another Frog!!

Frog from Costa Rica

Frog from Costa Rica. I may need to do a post on all of my frogs on of these days.

Jessica gave me this beautiful handcrafted frog last night, and it is now likely the best of my collection. She also gave me a bag of coffee that I am enjoying this morning. I think I made it a bit weak today, but that is ok, I will get it figured out as I go. It is all wonderful. She brought James a cap. She knows exactly what he likes, and as we were headed to the regional girls basketball tournament at the Jamestown Civic Center, he was glad to have it. Jess picked up these items when she was in Costa Rica a few weeks ago on a work related trip. It was part of some leadership training for young farmers in North Dakota Farmers Union. We kept hearing from her about visiting one plantation after another. She enjoyed it, but I don’t think she is ready to move at this time.

Coffee from Costa Rica

Coffee from Costa Rica

She dropped the gifts on us when we went to Shade’s Restaurant in the Gladstone Hotel. It is owned by Tony’s aunt and he works there as a cook. It is fun to go to Jamestown and make him cook when we go out to work. The food was great, by the way. Carson loved his homemade macaroni and cheese and my shrimp was just right, and everyone loves their type of fries. They are thicker and have a breading on them. So, this sounds like an advertisement for the restaurant, but it is just a story of a family gathering.

We were in town to watch niece, Elisabeth, play for the South Border Mustangs in the girls’ regional tournament. They came really close in the third quarter, but circumstances and other things were not in their favor and they wrapped up their season losing to Edgely-Kulm.  Having taught and coached in Jud in the earlier days, these were two of my rivals back in my basketball coaching days. Now they are a co-op and I believe they even absorbed Jud between the two of them. Sad as the loss was and as much as hopes were dashed for the four teams that lost out, as a track coach, I always enjoyed this time of year because it means that the REAL sport is just around the corner. You are supposed to be laughing because that is a track coaches joke. Oh well!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Feb 25, 2016 @ 19:58:08

    Lots of frogs and coffee in Maui too. I brought coffee back from Costa Rica and everybody loved it. You will likely like it. I am not a coffee drinker so I would not know one from another. I too have a frog collection. Mine are mostly cast iron.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. glenda zimmerman
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 10:30:41

    Jessica has to be the most thoughtful person!! Always remembering gifts! She is such a blessing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

