Happy Valentine’s Day

My Valentine's gift in 2016

My Valentine’s gift in 2016

Today is Valentine’s Day and I received my gift from James already on Tuesday. As usual, he bought me roses. They are really pretty and different. He stopped at the florist and saw the lavender ones in the vase and said he had to have them, so she made them up and after school, he brought them home for me. I put them in the corner of the living room because no outside doors open in that room in the winter and so there is no chance of them catching a draft. They have started to open and are so pretty. You can see that he also choose a very nice card and gave me a Dove chocolate bar. I am saving that until such time when I will feel the severe need to have some chocolate. I am sort of a hoarder of candy in that sense.

As you can see from the lack of picture, I did not get around to purchasing him anything. What a rotten wife I am. I was thinking that I would have time to grab a card at the grocery store when we stopped there after church this morning. Guess what? Yup, because of the weather here early this morning, we didn’t have church. The store in Eureka is open on Sunday’s. The store in Herreid is not and never has been.

I could have gone down town to a couple of different places yesterday to get him something, but I was a brat about leaving the house. In my defense it was rather cold (-2 degrees Fahrenheit wind-chill), and we were sitting in our room watching the regional wrestling tournament on the wall via the projector and the computer. It was a great day, and I took the opportunity to clean out the junkiness of my craft area in our bedroom, so that might be part of his gift, to have a more livable room. I am so excited about how clean and functional the room is that I might get all sorts of things accomplished now. (Pictures and info on that on lucindacrafts)

Today, I cooked and baked, so maybe that will be my gift, and I even did all of my own dishes. Of course I couldn’t tell him it was a Valentine gift, instead I told him it was because he wasn’t feeling well and I didn’t want to catch anything he might have if he does the dishes. Does anyone out there know why it is so hard for me to just plain be nice??? Maybe it is best if you don’t answer that question. So perhaps I will go and bring him a blanket so he can have a nap on the couch as he really is feeling all sick and achy.

In the meantime, he can enjoy the vegetable soup, pistachio pudding salad and banana bread that I made for the afternoon of munching, and maybe something in that mix will make his stomach feel better. There have been a few sick teachers and students at their school recently, so he was considering taking tomorrow as a sick day. I say if you have that many built up (like over 80) use them when you need to so you don’t keep spreading the bug around the building.

So, how did you spend your Valentine’s Day??? At least I have my message for next week ready to go with maybe just a little tweaking on the introduction.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glenda zimmerman
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 10:12:03

    The banana bread and vegetable soup were absolutely delicious!!! Thank-you from the bottom of my heart. I also got a candy bouquet from Adie and it is wonderful! Great Valentine’s Day!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. christinelaennec
    Feb 15, 2016 @ 17:56:23

    I made decorated sugar cookies for my husband and daughter for Valentine’s Day, and got some little fairtrade chocolate hearts for my husband as well. I was quite ashamed to discover he had bought several vases of spring flowers, a funny card and a big box of chocolates for me, as well as a card and chocolates for our daughter! But I guess that’s the thing about family and love, it can’t be measured or compared. (Though I comforted myself with the thought that I put quite a lot of time and effort into making my cookies and not just buying something!)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Feb 15, 2016 @ 19:01:51

      It seems that is how it is with some of us, we spend time making and gifting something that takes more of our time and effort than choosing a gift in the store, though if the truth be told, it takes me less time to make something than try to choose something. Ha!! I bet those cookies were delicious.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

