Happy 30th Jessica

Paulina, Victoria holding David, and birthday girl, Jessica on her birthday.

Paulina, Victoria holding David, and birthday girl, Jessica on her birthday.

I will start with a sorry to my daughter for being late in congratulating her about her birthday in my blog post, but we were with her on her birthday, and I thought it was rather rude to duck into the other room just to post this. Of course I could have done it in advance and set it to post on a timer, I have read that is possible, but well, hind sight. So today I decided to claim my blog spot back by upgrading to a premium site. I have been unable to upload media for some time, but that is all over now, well at least until I fill this new amount. I am so excited to be writing here again and especially to be starting with a shout out to my first daughter for her big day.

Jessica's college graduation with her sisters.

Jessica’s college graduation with her sisters.

She commented that life is a rush through your 20’s and hitting 30 is such a change. Ha!! Wait until she is 50 I hope she can read her words then. Being 30 is good. It can be a time to secure your career. It is different from 20 when you are trying so hard to establish yourself and get noticed. I think she has done that. I think she will be fine! I don’t worry about her quite as much as I used to, though there are days, I wish I were close enough to lean over her shoulder and help out a little more to take off some of that load she carries.

I am listening to Adele’s 25 album as I write this and the lyrics of “When We Were Young” sort of fits here.

Jessica's early pictures on the wall going down the steps at home.

Jessica’s early pictures on the wall going down the steps at home. The one of her with the NSU shirt has always been my favorite.

You look like a movie
You sound like a song
My God, this reminds me
Of when we were young

Let me photograph you in this light
In case it is the last time
That we might be exactly like we were
Before we realized
We were sad of getting old
It made us restless
It was just like a movie
It was just like a song
Jessica age 1 or 2

Jessica age 1 or 2

 

 

 

 

The other part of today was opening up my devotion booklet and finding what seems to be the perfect sort of story for Jessica on her birthday. The writer tells of a children’s message where the minister used children’s buckets to pretend shower the children with God’s love in order to show them how much God cares for all of us. That love never runs out. I took a snap of that print up to share here.

The Upper Room devotional on Jan. 24.

The Upper Room devotional on Jan. 24.

I want to be sure to give credit where it is due. The photo is of page 32 of The Upper Room Jan-Feb. 2016. Reach it on the web at UpperRoom.org if you are interested in it. I am not meaning to sound like an ad, but as a past English teacher, I get nervous about plagiarism, so I try to give you the way to find the original. Anyway, HAPPY, HAPPY 30th Jessica. I hope we are able to be together for many, many more.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 14:20:37

    Thanks for the nice blog mom :). It means a lot to me and it meant a lot to me that everyone came for the party, what a fun weekend it was!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Jan 27, 2016 @ 19:02:13

      Just to let you know, you deserve all the happiness this world can give you. It meant lots to me to be involved, and I hope to be there more for you in the coming months. You won’t have to do this campaign alone if I have a breath in me. I want to be that secretary who screens the people who have access to you. HA!!!

      Like

      Reply

  2. donna213
    Jan 25, 2016 @ 15:26:05

    Jessica was a cute baby. Happy birthday to her.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

