Proverbs 28, some samples

Here are a few select verses from Proverbs 28.

6. Better to be poor and walk in integrity than to be crooked in one’s ways even though rich.

19. Anyone who tills the land will have plenty of bread, but one who follows worthless pursuits will have plenty of poverty.

27. Whoever gives to the poor will lack nothing, but one who turns a blind eye will get many a curse.

Ouch, I am always nervous about the intention of that last one. I am always wondering if I share enough of what I have. In fact I know that I do not. I am one of those who feels I worked hard for what I have and why can’t others work hard. Yet in truth I know that for some it is circumstances. And then how do we know if the beggar is scamming us or really in need? Perhaps the best answer is to give to a reputable group that is able to discern those in need from those who are trying to pull a con. It has also been suggested that instead of giving money to those who are begging, give a meal or a drink of some kind and a card with an address that lets them know where shelter and help can be found in a safe, near-by area.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

