My Aching bones

I am beginning to understand why one should get out of bed at 6 a.m. or at least 7. The longer I am in bed the more my legs and back hurt. I should stop by the chiropractor today, but not sure if I will take the time, seems I always want or have time to go on Tuesday or Thursday, but she is only in town on Mon, Wed, or Friday. Mostly though it is only an excuse not to go or just to complain. Some of us are like that. I am trying not to have that mind-set, but every now and again it sneaks in.

Our mother was born without a father and she often attributed her problems to the fact that there was no “man” in the household. She felt her problems in school or in jobs or in life, especially when my father, her husband was abusive were all because she had no father. She blamed the unknown man for everything that went wrong, and looking back, I see some of it, but I also see that it is ourselves that cause our own fates.

Shakespeare wrote it so well in The Tragedy of Julius Caesar when he had Cassius tell Brutus: “The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, but in ourselves, that we are underlings.” In the case of Brutus and Cassius, they decided to partake in a bloody and gory ordeal that ultimately was their demise. We too have the opportunity to choose certain aspects of our lives. Granted not everything that happens to us is by our own choice. The key is how we react to those events that shape what we do and ultimately who we are.

In my past few postings that are not full messages, I had been using some verses from Proverbs because that is my current daily devotion, but I need to go back to the Psalms today. Chapter 124 beginning in verse 2 simply because it is nearly a repeat of 1.

Psalm 124: 2-8

2. If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, when our enemies attacked us,

3. then they would have swallowed us up alive, when their anger was kindled against us;

4. then the flood would have swept us away, the torrent would have gone over us;

5. then over us would have gone the ragging waters.

6. Blessed be the Lord who has not given us as prey to their teeth.

7. We have escaped like a bird from the snare of the fowlers; the snare is broken and we have escaped.

8. Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

That last verse is the one that I need to keep remembering whether it is a morning when my legs hurt down to the bones or if it is a windstorm that is ripping up the yard or if there is a sick child in the house. Our help comes from God who made everything. May God be with you all today and may your needs be met as you call out to a God who loves you enough to send his only Son for your Salvation. Peace to you!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Oct 30, 2015 @ 12:42:23

    As they say in Scotland, “Age doesn’t come on its own”. I am beginning to understand that the aches and pains of getting older are quite real! But I agree completely with you, we can’t usually control what happens to us, but we can choose how we respond. And most of the time our blessings far outweigh our sufferings. Thanks for this!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

