November Newsletter

The following is the little letter that I put in the church newsletter for November. Just thought I would share.

Wednesday (today) as I backed out of my garage, I saw a thin scattering of snowflakes drifting down in front of my van. It didn’t seem that they were hitting the ground and there certainly weren’t enough to capture in a picture, but they were there and a grim reminder that we are well past the warmth of summer and now even the crisp cool days of early fall. Winter is just around the corner, time to drag out the sweaters and heavy coats and gloves and boots. ICK!

On the other hand our devotion booklet this morning began with the scripture: I Thessalonians 5:18 “Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” Even for the cold we are to give thanks. I know it has its purpose and when the flies are gone for the year, most of us are more than happy. A few nights ago my sisters and I and my daughters were all part of a long and continuous text message round robin. It went on for over an hour and was for this time not the complaint session that has happened a time or two. The words going back and forth were silly and funny and at one point I was laughing so hard that I could barely breathe.

It felt good and reminded me of times when we would sit at my grandmother’s and then my mother’s table drinking coffee and talking and laughing. But life should not only be about the past or even the future, it should also be about the here and now. November is the month of Thanksgiving. I thank God for our time together, our time for laughter and tears. I look forward to the times we will share as we celebrate Mission Fest and Advent and on and on. The verses before the one above say: “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing.” May we take time to do both the rest of this year.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Oct 30, 2015 @ 12:33:18

    Two excellent verses for November and all year round. Great to hear that your family laughter can happen by text!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

