Interview #5

Here are a few more of those crazy interview questions. Not much in terms of comments on anything today because Paulina and I have so much going on with the garden and canning and cooking and maybe some baking, which will all show up on lucindagardens sometime in the next few days. Enjoy!!

What were your ambitions or dreams when you were young?

[This question sounds really weird in terms of the answer, but this is seriously what I thought I would do when I was really young.]

I always expected to live in a big city and work in a laboratory. I changed my mind after I took high school chemistry and our chemicals never worked. Every experiment we did looked like we poured water into water and nothing ever happened. I could never figure out how to write up the results for the lab report because nothing ever happened. Later I decided it was so much fun to be in track that I wanted to be a teacher and a coach.

How did you decide what you wanted your career to be? Did anyone influence you on this?

I have always enjoyed being a leader and an organizer, and because I enjoyed sports, I decided being a teacher and a coach would be a good thing to do. When I started college, it was the time of Title IX and that was a big influence. As young women, we were promised that as soon as we graduated there would be lots of jobs available to coach the girls’ teams. Little did we know that before we could finish college, all of the men who weren’t good enough to coach the boys would end up taking the jobs coaching the girls. Now I have left teaching and am a Pastor in a small church. I probably could have done that initially, but as I said before everything you do in life prepares you for the next thing you do. I look back and see that I have changed schools and positions and jobs many times, and each time has been like having another life, and I am happy that I have had the chance to live all these different lives.

As a teenager when did you get your first job and what was it?

In the 1970’s there were work programs for low income youth. I worked for the city two summers. It was good money and the boss was good to work for, but we had too many people working and not enough to do. It was not a good learning experience and we were often bored. Mostly we had to clean the city buildings and pick up the mess in the parks and around the city buildings. I think we could have been busier and accomplished more, but there wasn’t enough supervision to figure out what we should do. I also worked as a waitress for my grandmother in her café, and was the popcorn maker at the local theater. I made $1 per hour at the café and if we got a $.25 tip, it was a good day. The theater paid about $2.50 per weekend and we had to clean the place the day before the show as well as work the counter the entire night. I always ended up cleaning the bathrooms while the other girls swept under the seats.

[So in the original that I have from Elisabeth the word swept was sweat. My husband started laughing when I read the error out loud. He was wondering if it was from the book, Under the Bleachers by C. Moure Buttz. Ha Ha his idea of a joke. ]

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stillsearching2
    Sep 19, 2015 @ 19:20:43

    Funny how things change. I always wanted to be a private eye, probably because of all the tv shows that were popular at the time. Never happened. 😉 It has been nice to read all these interviews, it’s like getting to know you better.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

