Interview Round #3

I chose these two questions to be next because they will be easy to elaborate on. I need to explain more on most of my answers. I did not add all of it in the interview because, well frankly it was just so stinking many questions. It was fun though. I understand she scored an outstanding grade for her efforts. It must have been the great subject that she chose to interview. Ha!!

What were 2 major historic events you lived through?

Well the older you get the more you have, and my generation remembers where we were when JFK was shot. I remember watching the rerun of that in the living room while my mother was changing the diaper of my baby brother. And two other things that I remember profoundly were the assassination of Bobby Kennedy and when we landed on the moon. I remember watching both of those events on a small 10 inch television in the kitchen of our farm house. I think the death of Bobby Kennedy was probably even worse for our country than the death of President Kennedy. I don’t know why, but Bobby just seemed to hold so much promise for those of us who were young when he was campaigning. Things would have been so different had he been allowed to live.

I am adding this part: Watching the Kennedys when I was young pulled me into politics. Not that I even ran, but I have always paid attention, watched the conventions (both when I could stomach both sides, and that was every election up until just the last two) I wasn’t a Regan Democrat, gasp, but I was a George H. W. Bush listener. I watched his acceptance speech and inauguration and State of the Union speeches. I am appalled that these events are not watched in school as parts of history class. We did that in Pollock and students went ballistic that they were forced to watch. I am sorry if you don’t agree with the politics, it is still the leader of the country and you should be an informed citizen. This is our history, we should be paying attention to it. Perhaps this is why my children are the way they are.

Who impacted your life most as a child?

I wasn’t impacted by any one person. Mostly it was my older relatives, grandmothers, aunts and uncles. I was the oldest grandchild and so much older than my siblings that I was around adults much more than most children are. I learned to drink coffee before I was 10, and I listened in on stories that most children never know about. I tried hard to learn the family history from them at a young age. I credit my nosey nature to learning to speak German-Russian with them, something my aunt and I still do.

The Germans from Russia when they lived in Russia lived in family groups. They were very close to the extended family and that was part of our lives too. It is still part of the life we have passed on to the next generation. The farthest away is my nephew who lives in Sioux Falls which is 6 hours from here. We do not like that any of them are so far. Jessica and Paulina are 2 1/2 hours away and Victoria and Nate and the grandkids are a little over 3 hours away. If I had my way we would all be within the same county, but I am guessing they are happy to have the distance.

Well, that is all for today. I did leave a bit about the canning and garden slow down on the lucindagardens site, so check that out if you like. We quilted in church again last night and have finished up some very nice quilts. I could kick myself, I had the iPad with me for the purpose of taking pictures, and  I left it in the office and totally forgot. I will at least get some of the finished products and share them next week. For now, take care!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stillsearching2
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 19:23:46

    You are so lucky to know another language. I did try but always seem to have so much on my plate and never made the time or effort to learn. Older relatives are the voices of our past, sometimes we forget that and it becomes too late. Great posts, I’m glad she interviewed you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. daniellajoe
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 06:09:57

    Thanks for such a candid interview, and I didn’t know that you had a special language as German Russian I learned something interesting today 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Sep 18, 2015 @ 10:23:56

      Thanks for the comment. It is technically German, but the truth is that there are some phrases and syntax things that were picked up while the people lived in Russia. There is also a bit of English mixed in. When we have guests from Germany, we are able to speak to them, and we were told our dialect is from the southern part of Germany, Schwabich I believe it is called. Again thanks for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

