Recent failures

It appears that I have a few things to improve upon as of late. It wouldn’t be so bad if all of the failures I have been experiencing would be isolated to one part of life around here, but it is not. My failures have been in the garden, with one of my cats and even in my blogging world. I am starting to think that I should crawl into bed and stay there until fall and winter pass then come back out next spring to start over.

First off my garden is in a world of hurt this year because I decided to plant sunflowers. In so doing I have attracted a horrible bug, and now I am losing more than just those worthless sunflowers. Actually the sunflowers and the corn that is not edible make the garden look glorious from a distance. See below.

Sunflowers in the distance.

Sunflowers in the distance.

The picture I am sharing is about a week old. They are now over a foot taller than me and still going. James said the last time he was mowing, and I was watering, he couldn’t even see me inside of the sunflowers and the corn. I first noticed the disaster at the south end and the row closest to the tomato plants. The leaves were being eaten off, and there was no sign of a large animal having been in the garden. We have fence around three sides, so they have to come fairly close to the house to get into it, and there would be other plants stepped on if something like a deer or raccoon entered. James’ farmer brother assured us it is a little sunflower beetle that is so small you can’t even see it. Rah! Rah! I wouldn’t care if the sunflowers were its only food source, but the big problem is now I am noticing the beans are getting attacked. I am not sure if it is the same bug or a different one, but the results are pretty similar. We have sprayed the sunflowers with Sevin, but I am afraid to put that on the beans because they are just starting to grow actual beans on them. Today as I walked through the garden to check things out, I was looking at some of the bean plants to see if there was indeed anything on, and they broke off right in my hand because something is eating the stalk. GRRR!!! More on this at lucindagardens

Sophia

Sophia

Next our Sophia, the oldest of our cats not counting my mother’s, and best hunter, is fighting fleas or something like it. Recently she has been tearing out chunks of hair to fit the pests. Paulina noticed that something was crawling on her about a week ago, and James quickly picked up something that you apply to the back of their head and neck. We aren’t sure if it was applied incorrectly or if it just takes time to work, but she has been really cleaning herself lately. It is really bothering me because we had another cat when we first moved here who ended up with some skin thing and we tried every vet in the area, and no one knew what it was. I keep thinking that she didn’t have this trouble until she started bringing home dead gophers. Come to think of it Peaches’ problems started when he took to hunting the voles in my mother’s yard.

The final failure that I am ranting about today is the results of me trying to branch out on the blog. Of all the things that have gone wrong this summer this one is an epic failure along with another minor failure that needs a jump-start not to mention what it has done to the current blog I am on. Mostly the problems have resulted from dividing my time, which was the opposite of my hopes of  multiplying my results. It all started when I decided that I should have a separate place to just write about gardening and canning and making food from what we grow. I came up with this clever idea that if my current site is lucindalines then my gardening site should be lucindagardens. Of course never one to stop with what seems to be a good idea, I just had to push the limit, so next I figured I would create a site for the knitting and crocheting and sewing that I do. The only problem is that I haven’t sewed or crocheted for well six months at the least. I have been knitting some beanies off and on, but not really anything exciting or new. There is no way to get a site going with no production. Heck I have a Ravelry site called lucindadesigns, and I can’t remember the last time I even opened that let alone posted to it.

The worst part of the whole blogging failure is that I had this great idea to add the two new sites to my iPad app. Well any of you with those devices know exactly what happened. The whole app crashed out on my and it did it because it doesn’t want to hold more than one site at a time, and now since I am so computer literate, I can’t use it at all. In fact, I ended up deleting the app. I have tried to reload it, but it keeps telling me that I already have it. So because of it, I wasn’t reading some of the posts of the blogs I follow. I have been signing in without the app on the iPad to read them, but for certain blogs I can’t scroll past what shows on the screen. So frustrating.

So, tonight I plan to coerce Paulina to get that app back on my iPad, and I will be able to do my reading there again. I have also abandoned my lucindacrafts site, not that anyone had found it anyway. I was going to reblog what was on it, but didn’t really find it worth while. There is one post about Ana in a tutu, but I may redo that after we go to her place in August. The pictures we took of her wearing it were not the best, and now that she is walking, I am hoping for a few better shots of her in it. I will keep working on the gardening site, and hopefully that will take off in time. In the meantime, I will just renew the site I have and carry on. Happy blogging to all of you, and thanks for listening to my rant!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. donna213
    Jul 23, 2015 @ 21:06:59

    Too bad about the sunflower beetles. I did not know they ate more than sunflowers. Fleas, no picnic either. My blog is eclectic and works. Why worry if you change topics. Readers like variety.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. stillsearching2
    Jul 23, 2015 @ 15:18:18

    Sheesh! Sorry about all your problems. I wish I could help but am sure you know about the garlic/cayenne /soap spray. We did use feverfew as a spray this year when we saw problems with thrip, it took care of it straight away.
    I also had several different blogs at one time and found it just too much. I know “they” say to keep topics to one kind, but it is so hard to keep up with. I abandoned them. I worried about some content turning people away, then thought, I’m really blogging for out of province family and for myself, why should I worry about anything else?
    I think I was born worried! I love the wonderful people I meet online, but in the end, it was just too much to keep everything separate. Hope things start looking up for you.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Jul 23, 2015 @ 18:32:21

      Oh thanks for the advice on the blogging and the garden. No I do not know about the garlic/cayenne/soap spray. Tell me how and I will get right on it. I may have to look for the feverfew. Thanks for the comment and all the great advice.

      Like

      Reply

      • stillsearching2
        Jul 23, 2015 @ 19:42:57

        We usually use a whole garlic bulb (minced), a tablespoon of cayenne, a squirt of dish soap and put it in a spray bottle. Let it sit for a day or two. Strain it through cheese cloth or sieve, then spray the plant. If it rains, we do it again. It worked for pretty much anything. Feverfew, we boil it, strain and spray. But rarely use anything other than the garlic one.
        Sorry for replying so late, we had company. Good luck. It’s so sad when things get at our crops. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

