Life updates

It feels that since I started the garden and crafts blogs, I don’t really post anything worth anything here. This used to be my site for putting it all out there, and lately I have just sort of well, it feels like given up. I read on someone’s blog recently, sorry, didn’t keep track of whose, maybe Kathy in the Big Woods. Anyway what the person said is that most blogger get tired of it in three years and hang it up. Wow!

I started this blog as a reaction to leaving the newspaper where I had worked as an editor (really meant that I did the main story writing) and then a guest editorialist. I wrote a column titled: Lines from LuCinda from the end of October in 1999 until the early fall of 2011. It was a great experience and made me stay disciplined. I mostly commented on things from our life and what was going on in the area we lived in. A few times, well actually quite a few times, I was a bit political in terms of local school “politics” and that always caused a stir. I also gave my views on the first amendment and that caused a stir or two or three. There are still a few people that I have not reconciled with in terms of why the first amendment gives us the right to burn the flag, but that is another story totally. And in case anyone is wondering, I have never burned a flag, but I also don’t believe in flying a tattered flag, and I feel a few of the area schools would be a bit more respectful if they either cleaned or replaced the flag hanging in their gymnasiums, but that, too, is another topic.

So, my big issue today is why do I still keep this blog? What is it going to be if I have moved all my gardening/canning and cooking stories to lucindagardens@wordpress.com and all of my knitting and crocheting, not that I have done that lately, and any other craft items to lucindacrafts@wordpress.com? I still post my church messages here, but I am thinking this needs to be more than that, and I don’t want this to be a preachy site. I simply post my church messages here when I believe it is something worth sharing. So now what?

On the other hand, I might be having a bit of a mid-summer writing crisis. It has been a lazy couple of days, and that has really thrown me off the pattern of the days. My uncle and his wife and grandson are here from Phoenix. The time together is always so short when they come. We tried to drag out the day yesterday by sitting outside in the yard and visiting, but the mosquitos were so bad that we had to go inside and then we saw the clock and all ended up going home because it was so late. It was one of the few times that Melissa was down, although she has been around lots more this summer than last.

Well this is about all for today, I am going over to my aunt’s place to visit some more. If you need to know anything else about life around here there are a few garden posts on the other site and here is what the outside looked like a couple of days ago.

Morning glory crawling the trellis

Morning glory crawling the trellis

Hollyhock in bloom

Hollyhock in bloom

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Jul 13, 2015 @ 06:26:20

    I always enjoy the mix of things here. Your family news, weather, and your Sunday messages. But I don’t think anyone should feel pressured to blog – what is the point?!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. stitchinggrandma
    Jul 12, 2015 @ 07:36:49

    Love seeing your flowers growing! I am a “bad blogger” for the last few months, as I haven’t really had much to “say” either. I mean, how many times do you want to see my project when it is the same one, day after day. I do look at my blog as a bit of a personal journal, and some days aren’t as “sparkly” as others. I think you are right about the 3 year thing. I started in Nov 2012 and would post on a regular basis. Now….not so much. I admire those with the time to do multiple posts in one day. I’ve got too many other boring things to do, like laundry and dishes etc. I do enjoy reading yours as you are able to “get to them”.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

