Wednesday at Work

 

imageToday I am in my church office. I have been putting together the bulletin, selecting hymns for Sunday and getting ready for the Church Board meeting this evening. I enjoy going to meetings, but dislike it if nothing is ever decided or accomplished. Thankfully because we only meet quarterly, this group does NOT drag its feet. I dug out the minutes from the April meeting and for the most part everything brought up at the last meeting has been completed by tonight. The only exception is the new altar flower arrangement thing. And, there is an example of that to present at the meeting. Oh, and the banners are not quite finished, but they are in progress, and from the reports I have heard, they will be quite nice. I just hope we have enough here to make any major decisions that need to be made.

I am hoping to get something new implemented, but I shouldn’t bring anything up until it is presented and decided. Perhaps I will mention it tomorrow if I have the courage to bring it up. Just call me the Cowardly Lion. Yikes of all things.

I shall leave you with the scripture of the evening. Proverbs 16:1-3 “The plans of the mind belong to mortals, but the answer of the tongue is from the Lord. All one’s ways may be pure in one’s own eyes, but the Lord weighs the spirit. Commit your work to the Lord, and your plans will be established.” My prayer will be that we commit ourselves to the work that the Lord gives us. In all things that is what we should do, follow the Lord. I guess the difficult part is discerning what that is. Not all things that are put before us are from God, and today as I was on my visits at the Health Care facility, I realized as distractions entered my mind that not all ideas we receive are from God. It is those times we need to be firm and send the powers of evil on their merry little way, because little is what they are. I really need to re-read C.S. Lewis’ The Great Divorce. It is an excellent book.

Well that is all for today. Happy Wednesday, or Midweek as is called in our German-Russian dialect. Midvoch.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 06:02:52

    I haven’t read the Great Divorce, but the Screwtape Letters are a very witty reminder of the many ways we can be tempted from following God! As you say, discernment is very needful – speaking for myself…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. donna213
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 06:32:05

    When i read, “My prayer will be that we commit ourselves to the work that the Lord gives us,” my first thought was all the people that commit to doing bad things. Then you say, not all ideas come from God. Too bad not everyone can be good and send those bad ideas away. The world would be so wonderful if we all followed the path of good.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

