Another busy Tuesday

Flower arrangement.

Flower arrangement.

Yesterday was sort of a bum around day. I was on the computer most of it, but tried to take a rest. I have come to realize that since I started the Pastor thing at the beginning of 2014, I have not done a very good job of taking a day off as many do on Sunday. James’ family was very strict about keeping Sunday as a day of rest, and when we were first married, we did our best to honor that. Of course, James did spend most weekends, including Sunday playing in softball tournaments on Sundays, but with a full set of classes and usually a coaching stint, I soon came to realize the importance of taking Sunday to rejuvenate.

Lately, though, being only part-time at about everything, I have not taken time to rest at any time. I know there are those who believe that I really don’t do much of anything, but I can’t remember the last time I have taken an afternoon to just lounge around. In fact just today I was realizing that I can’t remember the last time I finished a book. I think it might be time to get back to reading. I used to read without stopping and now I barely ever pick up a book. Then again, that iPad might have something to do with the lack of reading. Perhaps I need a rule of so many pages before I get 15 minutes of screen time. Sounds like something we do with our children.

The main thing that I occupied myself with today will show up on the lucindagardens site. I made a batch of rhubarb butter, and it turned out pretty well if I do say so myself. I had put together a list of things to get finished up in the next week or two, and that was up on the top, so happily it did get finished. Most of the other things on the list were garden or outdoor related, except the things about cleaning my bedroom and bathroom. It will probably take me about five minutes, but it is so hard to carry the car all the way up the steps. Maybe I should just use the electric one, it might go faster.

Electric car (HA!)

Electric car (HA!)

In the end, I did some of the hand weeding on my list and James ran the little tiller around some of the bad spots in the garden. I made a pot of vegetable soup for supper and cleaned out the little fridge and boiled up the rest of the corn on the cob. There are two left so James and Paulina will have left overs tomorrow while I am in church the full day. We have board meeting tomorrow night, so it should be a 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. day for me. By the time I get home, I might need Thursday off.

The other thing that I finally got to today was to trim off the asparagus. I have not a clue how to raise that. I watched Sarah the Gardener’s video on it yesterday and realized I have really missed the boat. This is the third year we have been growing it, and we have never gotten anything other than some feather like leaves growing. I cut them off today, but I couldn’t stand to throw them out, so I made a flower arrangement. That is the picture at the beginning of this post. Good thing I am growing asparagus for something. Well, happy gardening to you.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. donna213
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 06:36:03

    I think I will make vegetable soup tonight. All the fresh vegetables I get at the farm would make a tasty soup or stew. Your flower arrangement looks cheery. Asparagus leaves are pretty no?

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

