Roses not so red or even yellow

I have been trying to post all of my garden posts and updates and such on my new gardening blog. It is http://www.lucindagardens@wordpress, but I just need to get a few pictures of my roses here, so maybe someone with some knowledge will give me a shout. Earlier Christine gave me some great hints, but I should have done some of them before I planted, and I will need to pick up some food for the roses the next time I am on  a shopping spree.

Roses in bloom

Roses in bloom

There were about three or four buds on the plant when I put it in the ground. They have mostly opened, and I have been careful to dead head them as they were fading. I just noticed today that the bottom branch of the bush is dying and it wasn’t clear what had happened. I did pull all the weeds around the plant after I saw the problem, but I am lost on this one. As I said in an early post on the other site, roses are not really my forte.

Dead branch

Dead branch

On a happier note, the clematis is loving the new, tighter twine that I gave it. I have also been dead heading that plant this year, and it just keeps blooming. So love that plant. Funny how I finally realized not to cut it to the ground in the fall.

Clematis

Clematis

I have a few more flower pictures, but am posting them over on the lucindagardens site. Catch you later!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 06:05:47

    Sorry about the rose. I don’t know what’s happened to that lower branch, but hopefully the plant will give you some more stems, if not buds, this summer. I am about to take out an old rose in my garden that has not thrived this summer. I will plant something else in its space, since you’re not supposed to plant roses again in the same soil.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Tilly Frueh
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 20:56:40

    Well, I should have read this post prior to visiting your new blog, because I just followed it, not even realizing it was you. It’s great! I only read the latest post, but hope to go back and read others. How do you find the time? You are an inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Jul 06, 2015 @ 21:41:30

      Just to clarify, I don’t have a full time out of the house job. I am a part-time Pastor and a substitute teacher and really should be at the point of retirement, but with the house still in mortgage, well, enough said. Ha! I love writing and since I don’t have the guts to try free lance, this is as good as it gets. Thanks for the comments.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

