Movie complete

Tonight we actually held a full length movie. We started the cartoons about 9:30 and the light was ok, but improved as the cartoon went on. We really only ran the cartoon as a filler until everyone was able to get situated.

The Flinstones

The Flintstones

Who had to ask what the cartoon would be? I didn’t think there was any other cartoon except maybe the Jetsons. Ha!!

The full length feature is a movie that I have been thinking of for years, and in fact the first time I started looking for the DVD, all information indicated that it had never been made into a DVD from the movie. I was so disappointed. I have read the book about three times. It is written by Richard Bradford. The movie was made in 1971 and is such a typical 1970’s movie where anything was allowed, enough said. The summary of it goes something like: A coming of age movie set in New Mexico during WWII. It even has some racist issues. The name comes from the saying: “Red sky at night, sailors delight; Red sky at morning, sailors take warning.”

Red Sky at Morning

Red Sky at Morning

The main character is played by Richard Thomas who was later known for playing John Boy Walton in the television series, The Waltons. In this movie there was a cousin, a leech sort of, who comes to visit and they call him Jim Bob. I thought it was hilarious because in The Waltons, John Boy has a brother whose name is Jim Bob. I am not sure if it was intentional or what, but it almost seems like too much of a coincidence.

Anyway, I sure loved the movie and the company, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes humor and serious and can handle some history and even a few “off color” remarks and also a little “skin.” I had forgotten about some of that, but the three major funny parts and the serious nature of the WWII setting are what stuck in my memories. So, enough rambling. Hoping to have another movie next Friday. Glenda has chosen the next movie. I forget the name, but am looking forward to it.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glenda zimmerman
    Jun 27, 2015 @ 17:36:10

    It was a wonderful night! The movie was entertaining and the popcorn was delicious—-all 5 pounds of it that I ate!! I was still full at 11 a.m. this morning!! We just need to have these movie nights all summer long. Delores Claiborne is the one we have to watch next!!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. donna213
    Jun 27, 2015 @ 05:16:31

    I used to like the Jetsons and the Flintstones. Both were funny. Not too keen on war movies though. Movie night outside must be fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

