More porch details and cats

Yesterday when I posted about cleaning the porch, I failed to mention the extra table. We normally use this for the food or the plants or something. We bought it several years ago at an auction sale in our own neighborhood. I believe it was an extra table that wasn’t used much anymore because one of the legs wobbled. Last summer James went to work on it. It secured the leg and scrapped all the peeling paint and repainted it white on the side boards. It is the cutest table with the sides up. It is a great size for four people and with the sides down you can use it for two quite well. It would be a great apartment table, or for our purposes here on the porch as you could see in the next to last picture yesterday. Check out the underside to see how the leaves flip up and are held in place.

Old white table

Old white table

Underside

Underside

The piece of wood in the middle pivots and allows the leaf to fold down. The board closest to the viewer then is the buffer as the leaf goes down. So clever. The top of the table is metal and the sides and legs are wooden. It has just a hint of a distressed look and as we continue to use it and clean it each year, it will become a little more “in-style” each year.

I spent Tuesday in Bismarck with my Aunt Glenda. She had to see the dentist then we had the day to shop and all sorts of things. We ate out and Jessica joined us. She just happened to be in town for one final day of legislature work. I didn’t even ask what the bill was about. James said it was something to do with the retirement for public employees. Hopefully I will get a more detailed account this weekend when she is here for the big Rensie and Anna (Droog) Haak family reunion in Hague, ND. It should be a fun time.

The day was great, not counting that we were drenched each time we exited the car. When Glenda dropped me off I noticed 2.25 inches of rain in the gauge, but knowing how James trust it, he may have tampered with it, not sure. I knitted on the way up and back and have a finished beanie for the lucindacrafts@wordpress.com as well as a new one just started on the needles. Rah!.

I was upset all the way home because I thought that the new brush I purchased for my purse was gone. My hair looked horrible because I didn’t “sleek” it down or blow dry it before we left. With this rain I didn’t see the point. I have mostly straight hair, but in a rain or a humid day it tends to grow as if it has a permanent and well, it just fuzzes up. I sounded just like my mother today [that is another post–where I trash the youngest sister] when I said something about my hair being wooly.

Anyway, I bought the brush because I forgot mine today, but I also wanted a smaller lighter weight one for the purse. I unpacked my purse on Saturday night and if I would have done a weigh in on a before and after, I bet I dropped about 10 pounds out of it, and I don’t know for sure what the weight was other than the brush and some nail polish. So, brush was no where to be found on the way home. I was so upset. I thought I dropped it out when I got out of the car, and we didn’t stop to look. After we unloaded and unpacked all of the bags, there it was inside the bag that it came in. I guess after I used it, I put it back. Good Grief Charlie Brown.

Errant brush.

Errant brush.

Sophia was so upset about the rain. She kept trying different doors to go out hoping it was only raining on the other side of the house. Eventually she just laid on the towel to sleep. I think that is a good plan, but I will find my couch with a good television show to go with it. Happy rain day!!

Sophia was watching me unpack.

Sophia was watching me unpack.

She was curling up to say "pet me."

She was curling up to say “pet me.”

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glenda zimmerman
    Jun 18, 2015 @ 12:07:03

    Next time you are with me and think you have lost something, I am going back to every spot we ever stopped to look for it!! You never did say that you wanted to go back to look!! I do think that you would have notice it if it had fallen out of the car!! Maybe it was a good thing that we didn’t go back, though, because the car had just enough juice in it to get home and died just a block from my house!! Anyway, I am so glad that you went along with me and that you found your brush!! And you know what?? Your hair ALWAYS looks good!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. donna213
    Jun 17, 2015 @ 19:29:13

    Are cats really that dumb to think the rain will stop on the other side of the house? πŸ˜€ My cats were strays and never want to go outside again.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Jun 17, 2015 @ 23:13:31

      Oh mine seem to forget or they seriously don’t understand. Mostly it is only Sophia my orange cat. She is such a hunter, the other day she brought home two gophers for supper.

      Like

      Reply

  3. atkokosplace
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 22:13:15

    I’ve had those good grief moments! Glad you didn’t lose your brush! Your table is just darling! Beautiful finish! I hope you got to enjoy some feet up-t.v watching-cat snuggling time! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. stitchinggrandma
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 18:43:40

    That is a valuable table. I have one in my kitchen and have seen similar in the local antique stores, selling for over $200. Ours came from my husbands grandmother’s kitchen and he remembers it from childhood. Ours has a green and yellow enameled top with decorative paint. It also has a drawer on the long side.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

