Cleaning the porch

Today I woke to find James with his hands in the bucket working on the porch walls. We had agreed to do that this morning, but I decided to sleep in a little. If I would go to bed at night before 1:30 a.m., I could probably get up at 6 a.m. like he does. I was able to help with the lower area where the really bad male cat markings were. Between the soapy water, the scrub brush and the Magic Eraser, we were able to clean the area up a bit. There are no before pictures, just middle and after. Here is what the place looked like while we were working away.

Cleaning under the canopy.

Cleaning under the canopy.

Above actually shows after the washing. The ladder is there because James was working on hanging some lights on the little ladder decoration thing just under the roof. Can’t wait until the sun goes down to see what it looks like.

All in order.

All in order.

Below you see where James and I set the old swing. I need to stitch that up so it holds people again. Any suggestions on what sort of thread would work would really be welcome. I was thinking of using plastic fishing line. We have the cushions in the basement just need to clean them and get them in place. I always like the yard best in mid June. It must be the peonies.

Swing in the yard

Swing in the yard

I spent a few minutes while supper was cooking to rearrange all of the plants and toys setting on the concrete. I also fit in the round table with the lawn chairs and the bikes under the canopy just at the edge by the rain tub. I guess if it storms, we will be scrambling everything against the wall and trying to remember where it goes the next day. Maybe I should take a picture from the other angle so I know how I had it arrange. Yikes!

The porch, empty and scrubbed.

The porch, empty and scrubbed.

Above we have the little table on the porch and everything is clean and waiting for the furniture to come back. Below we have everything in place. There is even a little sitting area with the couch and some chairs. Paulina is on the couch reading the Herreid Centennial History Book. We were trying to remember when the pool opened in Herreid. I thought I was about 6 when it opened, and when we looked it up, yes I was. It opened in June of 1963, and the cost was just over $18,000 to build. Try putting in a Kidde pool for that amount now days and you might struggle.

The porch with the table in place and some old chairs.

The porch with the table in place and some old chairs.

Last but not least, we finally moved the grill to the east steps where it will stay. James was against doing it until he realized how nice it was to just step outside and then back inside with the finished burgers. I might even start cooking on it if I have access. Wow, just in time for company this weekend. Now to set up the croquet game.

Grill, opps almost forgot the picture.

Grill, opps almost forgot the picture.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. atkokosplace
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 10:28:42

    Your porch is amazing. I’d love to have something like that. Relaxing outdoors would have a whole new meaning for me! As for the swing any thick thread whip stitched would work nicely. If you were looking for a little more of s project you could put grommets along the top and then use cotton rope wrapped through the grime to and too of bench. Have a happy day! Koko 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Jun 16, 2015 @ 17:45:51

      Thanks for the hints. My sister used fishing line on hers. I tried some old crochet yarn and that was a joke. I guess when you want to put some heavy weights into the swing, you need more strength. Thanks for stopping. And the porch was a splurge when we did this old house, and worth every penny.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. christinelaennec
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 08:22:48

    Hi Lucinda! That looks like a lot of work. I am so jealous of my husband who has always needed less sleep than I do. I really need 8 hours (though rarely get that every night). I visited your Lucindagardens blog, and couldn’t for the life of me figure out how to comment! I wonder, is your heart-leaved plant some kind of violet, with the flowers being past now? Or a kind of mallow?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Jun 16, 2015 @ 17:44:02

      Sorry about the no comment option, I am still working to get that all set right. I am not sure why it was so easy to set up the lucindalines and so hard on the new one. I am not sure on that plant, but it has not bloomed yet. Thanks for taking the time to comment Christine, and I guess we will have to let the men be awake as we slumber more. Ha!!

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

