The garden emerges

It seems that every year it is the same story and pictures. The garden is black and needs planting, then the garden begins sprouting, next the garden needs to be weeded and finally the harvest is in. We are currently in the seedlings are emerging stage. It will probably only be two days before we hit the weeding in full force stage and before long the radishes and lettuce will be ready for picking. Oh well, I am probably getting a little ahead of myself. Here is a story in pictures of what is going on in the vegetable and flower gardens. If the mosquitoes wouldn’t be so outrageous, I would probably spend time outside working. Today, though is a day of quiet and some rest for me.

The stakes are marking rows of zinnias and beans.

The stakes are marking rows of zinnias and beans.

This part of the garden is spaced too closely, but we will have to survive. The peas are on the fence line and just starting to sprout. I have to do some serious anti-dandelion work on that fence. The zinnias are really coming near the end of the row. Hopefully it will attract what pollinators are still alive in the area. We had a wasp nest last year and I hesitated to get rid of it because I knew they were in the garden. The beans are good I the row beside the zinnias, but quite sparse in the other row. I suspect they have been trampled as most think that is the path.

Radishes are us in the middle.

Radishes are us in the middle.

This raised bed, or our version of it, is spinach, radishes, lettuce. Currently only radishes coming. The bed that is cut off to the left is carrots, beets and red cabbage and nothing is coming there as of now.

Peppers are peaking over the cans.

Peppers are peaking over the cans.

We need to pick up the plastic milk covers and put them away. I usually keep them out as a cover in case of a storm. They are at least some protection in case of small hail stones and quite good for high winds and hard rains. The heat today would bake the plants if they were left on.

Onions.

Onions.

The onions on either side of the peppers are coming well. Again people are thinking that is a path. I may have to mark the paths better.

Zucchini

Zucchini

This is the green zucchini, coming quite well. I noticed this afternoon that the yellow squash/yellow zucchini is coming even better. Rah, rah!! I may be running through the town at 2 a.m. dropping them off on doorsteps if they produce as well as they have sprouted.

Tomatoes peaking up.

Tomatoes peaking up.

Notice the cages. James’ nephew has started making these with rebar. He is working on getting a business set up to do them commercially. At the time we got these we reimbursed him for the supplies at out $15 per cage, but I am guessing the rebar prices are probably a bit more this year. They do stand up much better than the old wire ones I have.

More tomatoes

More tomatoes

There are the romas and the early producers. So far all have survived. Rah!!

Corn

Corn

We didn’t plant any eating corn this year. We have the ornamental corn. We used that a couple of years ago to decorate for fall. The squirrels were really happy to find that and take it out of the decorations. I may dry them and dip them in varnish to keep them for a bit. I am not sure how it will work, but maybe…On the other hand, I could just let the little varmints eat it.

Sunflowers

Sunflowers

I found a pack of sunflower seeds and decided to see what happens.

Potatoes

Potatoes

I hoed the potatoes last week. I see that is not a one time event.

??

Cucumber

This picture taken last night really only had one cucumber up, this afternoon the fence line has quite a showing. Yeah!!

Spirea behind the house

Spirea behind the house

Columbine

Columbine

Dianthus

Dianthus

Clematis

Clematis

Last week in one of the blogs, I posted a picture that the clematis was starting to bloom. James and I were gone over the weekend, and this is what I saw when I took this picture Sunday night.

Shasta daisy

Shasta daisy

We took the borders off the old Shasta daisy bed and now they are allowed to just go where ever they please. This one is blooming in the old iris bed.

basil

basil

I planted basil in two separate containers. This is the second round and is up before the first. I may need to re-seed the other container. I sure want fresh basil to put in the tomato soup when I can this fall.

sage

sage

Sage always comes up first for me. This should be a good amount for what I need. Victoria insists on sage in the turkey at Thanksgiving. I have also heard that dried sage is good in your fire pit. I need to try that this summer. With the mosquito population at our place, we need to try almost anything to get rid of them. So enough for now. Enjoy your days of summer. Or shall I say, late spring.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

