Growing Evergreens

In the past I have taken pictures of the evergreens and posted them to show their height. This is more for my own information and maybe the daughters living away might care, but then again maybe not. They are busy sitting at bedsides, of which we don’t hear an update. Perhaps I offended when I suggested that a life insurance policy would be the answer. Just call me Eliphaz. Who is that you ask? It was the oldest and “wisest” of the friends who came to check on Job and give him advice about what to do after his children all died, his wealth was taken from him and he was sitting on a dung heap trying to find a comfortable position after being infested with draining open sores. Yeah his advice wasn’t so hot either. The other is busy updating resumes and letters of application. I probably wouldn’t have stuck around as long as she has if I had been told I am training my replacement, well not total replacement, just new boss. Of course I guess I did hang on a year after being demoted to assistant coach and watching the new head coach completely rip up the team. So never mind, I wasn’t going there today. I was going to a happy place to talk about my evergreen trees. So come and join me and see how they are growing from the road to the middle of the yard.

Tree #1: The only Blue Spruce:

#1

#1

The stick that Paulina is holding is 6′ 10.5″ in height. This tree is at least a foot above that. When I pulled it in for a close up I estimated around 8 foot tall.

#2

#2

Tree #2 is right about 5 feet tall. If you notice the brown tips, this tree has some damage from the excessive frosts we had this spring.

Frost damage.

Frost damage.

The tree is growing but these early tips are turning brown and falling off.

#4 The twins

#3 The twins

This tree comes after the space that has never allowed a tree to grow in it. I suspect there is some wire or something under it. We have given up trying and are thinking of putting in a decorative bird bath or something to fill the space. This tree has a trunk that branches in two near the bottom. It probably isn’t real stable and will likely split in a major wind storm. On top reaches 6′ and the other is over 7′ tall.

#4 The tallest at over 10 feet.

#4 The tallest at over 10 feet.

I was able to string lights on this tallest tree using a step-ladder last year. I am thinking we won’t make the top with the step-ladder this winter. We shall see how it works out.

#5

#5

This tree is still under 6′, but looks like it has lots of growth this year, so it should be to the top of the pole by the end of the summer.

#6

#6

This little one was replaced not so long ago. I think we might be able to pull the protecting fence pretty soon. We kept those fences on to stop crazy mowers from running the trees over. This one is finally over the 2′ mark. I didn’t keep track of how many times we had to replace trees here. In Jamestown when we planted 7 trees on each side of the driveway, and too close together I might add, we never replaced any of them because we were so bent on saving them all.

#7 Last but not least.

#7 Last but not least.

This final tree comes in above the stick, but not as tall as the 10′ tree. I am guessing it won’t be exactly easy decorating this tree this year either. It might be time to find some sort of lift to do these.

First chokecherry

First chokecherry

The chokecherry trees are not all that tall, maybe 3′, but it will have to do. At least they are stating to bloom and show some hope of giving some berries so we might start thinking of jelly in a few years.

Below are a few of the plants growing in the front of the house. I couldn’t help showing off the clematis. I should do some trimming on it, but I am just so happy that it is blooming more than one flower a year, I don’t have the heart to cut anything off.

Clematis in bloom

Clematis in bloom


Hosta in full leaf, columbine ready to bloom

Hosta in full leaf, columbine ready to bloom

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 16:31:54

    Looks like you’ll need a farmhand to decorate those evergreens next year. I don’t know if a farmhand will even work for mine. It must have grown another three feet since last November. I still have the lights on from last year, but I’m sure most of them aren’t working any more. I will use bigger bulbs if I do decorate it next year!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

